Hearts top seeds for Betfred League Cup draw

Hearts have been named top seeds in the north section for Friday's Betfred League Cup group phase draw.

Wednesday, 23rd May 2018, 3:24 pm
Updated Wednesday, 23rd May 2018, 3:36 pm
Hearts could meet Dunfermline again in the Betfred League Cup

The Tynecastle side could potentially be paired with second seeds Dunfermline in a repeat of last year's League Cup tie, which ultimately sealed the fate of former head coach Ian Cathro.

All eight groups will comprise one first seed, one second seed and three unseeded teams. The other second seeds Hearts could be drawn alongside are Dundee United, Inverness Caledonian Thistle and Falkirk.

Newly-promoted Livingston will be second seeds in the southern section of the draw, while Edinburgh City and Spartans are both non-seeds in the southern region. None of the three can therefore meet Hearts.

Sign up to our Hearts newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Hibs are not involved in the group stage due to European commitments but will take part in the latter stages of the competition.

The draw takes place at 6.30pm on Friday live on BT Sport 2. It will be streamed live and free on BT Sport’s Facebook page and Twitter feed: @btsportfootball.

The 40 participating clubs will play four games across five match dates: 14 July, 18 July, 21 July, 25 July and 28 July (subject to broadcast television selections).


First seeds (north)

1 Heart of Midlothian, 2 St Johnstone, 3 Dundee, 4 Ross County

First seeds (south)

5 Kilmarnock, 6 Motherwell, 7 Hamilton Academical, 8 Partick Thistle

Second seeds (north)

9 Dundee United, 10 Dunfermline Athletic, 11 Inverness Caledonian Thistle, 12 Falkirk

Second seeds (south)

13 St Mirren, 14 Livingston, 15 Queen of the South, 16 Morton

Unseeded clubs (north)

17 Brechin City, 18 Raith Rovers, 19 Alloa Athletic, 20 Arbroath, 21 East Fife, 22 Forfar Athletic, 23 Montrose, 24 Peterhead, 25 Stirling Albion, 26 Elgin City, 27 Cowdenbeath, 28 Cove Rangers

Unseeded clubs (south)

29 Dumbarton, 30 Ayr United, 31 Stranraer, 32 Airdrieonians, 33 Queen's Park, 34 Albion Rovers, 35 Stenhousemuir, 36 Clyde, 37 Annan Athletic, 38 Berwick Rangers, 39 Edinburgh City, 40 Spartans