Bonnyrigg Rose go top after seven-goal thriller

Bonnyrigg Rose manager Robbie Horn
Bonnyrigg Rose manager Robbie Horn
Have your say

Ten-man Bonnyrigg climbed back to the top of the table with defeat of Fauldhouse in an epic seven-goal thriller.

After racing into a three-goal lead in the opening 18 minutes, Bonnyrigg were pegged back by a dogged Fauldhouse outfit before grabbing the winner with ten minutes to go from skipper Ross Archibald.

“The players showed a depth of character I’ve never seen before,” Bonnyrigg boss Robbie Horn said. “When we went down to ten men and they pegged us back, the lads dug deep to get us a result.”

Bonnyrigg took only a couple of minutes to open their account when Archibald cut the ball back for Jon Stewart , whose deflected drive looped into the net. Minutes later they doubled their lead with an exquisite goal from Kieron McGachey, who ran onto a great through ball from Fraser McLaren to dink it over the advancing goalkeeper and into the net. Lewis Turner then drove a low ball across goal where it took a deflection out to McLaren, who side footed the ball home for number three. However, Fauldhouse started their fightback with a penalty from Michael Browne after 20 minutes.

Bonnyrigg were reduced to ten men in the second half after McLaren was sent off for a high challenge and Fauldhouse capitalised with a second goal on the hour mark. Rose goalkeeper Mike Andrews failed to clear a high ball in the box and Browne smashed it home from ten yards. Ten minutes later and the game was all square as Jason Deans rose to power a header into the net after a cross from the right.

Bonnyrigg, though, weren’t done yet and with ten minutes remaining they grabbed the winner. Substitute Scott Gray picked up the ball and drove a low ball across goal for Archibald to knock over the line.

Bonnyrigg: Andrews, Horne, Donaldson, Stewart, Moyes, Hoskins, Archibald, Turner, McGachey, Nelson, McLaren. Subs: Brown, Kidd, Gray, Tobin, Burrell.

Fauldhouse: Murphy, Fallon, Lawson, K Ross, Watson, Deans, Stewart, Browne, Wilkins, B Ross, Miller. Subs: Peace, Bonnes, Campbell, Robertson.