Edinburgh exit Uni tourney

Have your say

Edinburgh University, who reached the final of the British Universities Championship Trophy last season, were beaten in the opening game of this season’s competition when they lost on penalties to the University of Northumbria in Newcastle.

Edinburgh pressurised their opponents for the majority of the game but could not find the killer touch and after 90 minutes and extra-time the clash finished goalless. James Craigen, Jack Beacher, Cyrus Moosavi, James Brownie and Roy Chattergee all saw good chances either saved by the impressive Northumbria goalkeeper or squandered from good positions. The penalty shoot-out proved to be a disaster for Edinburgh with Craigen and Brownie both missing while Northumbria scored all four of their attempts to triumph 4-1.

Heriot Watt University also exited the competition when they conceded a stoppage-time goal to lose 2-1 against Stirling University in Stirling. Chris Rae had given Heriot Watt a first half lead which they held until the closing stages before Stirling’s late rally.