Heriot-Watt face Lowland League Gala in Cup

Heriot-Watt manager Ian Little
Heriot-Watt manager Ian Little
Have your say

Heriot-Watt University face Gala Fairydean Rovers in the first round of The SFA South Challenge Cup at Netherdale tomorrow (3.00pm kick-off).

The students will be hoping to redeem themselves against Steven Noble’s Lowland League side after a 5-3 defeat by Coldstream in the East of Scotland League last weekend.

Watt head coach Ian Little knows tomorrow’s opponents well having managed Gala’s Border rivals Vale of Leithen, whilst Watt’s top goal-scorer Chris Donnelly will be looking to add to his tally of 12 goals.

Liam Walker has also been in good form for the Riccarton side of late with Adam Kerlin and Anton Dowds also making promising starts to the season having featured for Watt’s University First XI.

Watt’s league form has been a little inconsistent but they have managed to achieve home wins over tough opposition in Spartans EOS and Duns, although they were knocked out of the Alex Jack Cup by the Border outfit last month.

Lothian Thistle Hutchison Vale travel to Hawick Royal Albert with striker Scott Moffat the only doubt for the Saughton Enclosure side.

Craigroyston face Duns at New Hawthorn Park with manager Andy Brown looking to build on last weekend’s 1-0 win at Civil Service Strollers.

“The attitude of the boys against Civil was top class and I’ll be looking for more of the same against Duns,” said Brown who is still casting his eye over a couple of trialists at St Mark’s Park.

Ormiston return to action after a free weekend last week as they face Coldstream at Home Park with the winners due to face Preston Athletic in round two.

“We’ve been playing really well without getting the results our overall play has deserved,” said Ormiston manager Brian Johnston who has no 
injury concerns for tomorrow’s clash.

Tynecastle were due to face Vale of Leithen tomorrow but with the winner of that tie scheduled to face Kelso who resigned from the league last month, both sides will now meet each other in round two.

All other matches kick-off at 2.30pm.