Juniors round up: Penicuik out of Junior Cup

Keith Lough scored for Penicuik. Picture: Lisa Ferguson
Keith Lough scored for Penicuik. Picture: Lisa Ferguson
Have your say

Broxburn win in Fife


Lochee United 4

Penicuik Athletic 2

PENICUIK were two goals behind inside the first 20 minutes when Scott McComiskie scored in the 14th minute followed, five minutes later, by Bryan Deasley. Penicuik battled back with goals from Keith Lough and Lewis Barr before half time. Lochee took the lead in the 79th minute with a penalty converted by McComiskie and the tie was put to bed when Deasley scored his second and Lochee’s fourth.

Lochee United: Fotheringham, Bannon, Kirk, Beedie, Hay, Percy, McComiskie, Deasley, Gallacher, Hagan, Tawse. Subs: Birse, Blackwood, Ritchie, Kadela, Martin.

Penicuik: Bejaoui, Ross, McDermott, Young, White, McCulloch, Barr, Janczyk, McCallum, Somerville, Lough. Subs: Lister, Gay, Mitchell, Devlin, Cunnison.


St Andrews United 2

Broxburn Athletic 3

The hosts took the lead on ten minutes when Ryan McInnes fired in a 25-yard free-kick into the bottom left corner. Broxburn equalised half way through when Kieron Anderson scored a scorcher that warmed up the cold St Andrews air from 22 yards out, giving the keeper no chance. Just after the hour mark, Anderson scored from the penalty spot. St Andrews equalised with 20 minutes remaining. After a break down the left the ball was fired in and substitute Barry Sibanda turned it home at the near post. The visitors got the winner when Nicholas Locke fired home a free kick from 25 yards into the bottom left corner. St Andrews’ Ricky Patrick was red carded in the last minute for a tackle on John Miller who had to be helped from the park.

St Andrews: Bruce, McMullan, Dobie, McInnes, Kelly, Weederburn, Whitehead, Patrick, Holden (Sibanda 60), Deane (Sturrock 88), Buchan. Subs: Clarkson, Mackie, McManus.

Broxburn Athletic: King, Locke, Willems, M Millar, Rarity, Scott, Young, J Miller (Manson 89), A Miller, Keast, Anderson. Subs: Nimmo, Lochrie, Donaldson, Maley.


Dalkeith Thistle 4

Edinburgh United 1

DALKEITH were two ahead inside 20 minutes with goals from Paul Tansey and Craig O’Reilly. United hit back through Gary Bennett who converted a pass from Jordan Hopkinson and were unlucky not to draw level minutes later when Ebra Silla-Silla’s header was cleared off the line. Just after the break Dalkeith keeper David Hay made a superb save before Silla-Silla again had a header cleared off the line. Matty Hunter increased the lead in the 55th minute with a strike before Darren McGrath conceded the fourth with an own goal.

Dalkeith Thistle: Hay, Lally, Smith, Waters, Kidd, Linton, McNaughton, Mike Hunter, O’Reilly (Ralton 86), Matty Hunter (Pusledzki 82), Tansey (Osborne 69). Subs: Whitson, Robertson.

Edinburgh United: Easton, Fleming (Elliot 77), N Robertson (Dignan 64), A Robertson, Grieve, Auriemma, McGrath, Bennett, Hopkinson, Hendrie, Silla-Silla (C Robertson 52). Sub: Lee.

Oakley United 2

Haddington Athletic 2

HADDINGTON took a sixth-minute lead when top scorer Paul Devlin snapped up his tenth goal of the season from close range after Oakley keeper Manderson could only parry Wayne Sproule’s shot into his path. The hosts were level six minutes later when Andy Watt’s looping header beat emergency loan signing John Johnstone in the Hi Hi’s goal. The same player headed against the bar minutes later. The second half was only three minutes old when the referee chalked off an Arran Ponton goal for offside. The visitors went ahead on 62 minutes when skipper Michael Fairnie directed the ball into the net after Andy Forbes headed it into the goalmouth from Jerry Draper’s corner. Oakley claimed a point with 12 minutes remaining courtesy of a scrappy goal which Alan McDonough claimed it, though the ball looked to have deflected in off a Haddington player.

Oakley United: Manderson, Fleming, Fraser, Brown, Harrower, Paterson, Murray, McGowan, McDonough, Watt, Allan. Subs: Thomson, Ward, Ewing, Devaney, Wright.

Haddington: Johnstone, Forbes, Draper, Hume, Miller, Inglis, Wright, Fairnie, Sproule, Devlin, Ponton. Subs: McPartlin, Berry, Froude.