Juniors round-up: Penicuik progress | Tranent toil | Arnie won’t be back

Have your say

Here’s how the local Junior teams got on in the Scottish Cup third round and the Super League ...

Cumbernauld United 2, Tranent 1

Tranent could not hold on to an early lead as they bowed out of the Scottish Cup to West of Scotland Super League First Division side Cumbernauld United. Kenny Fisher put the visitors in front, finishing off a fine move, but the more the game went on, the more Cumbernauld came into proceedings. They found the equaliser when James Dickson fired home and soon after the Guy’s Meadow men took the lead thanks to Tom McCabe’s goal. 
Tranent battled valiantly after the break as they tried to find a leveller, but it wasn’t to be for the East Premier Division outfit.

Cumbernauld: Boyle, Higgins, Foley, Sullivan, Bunche, Stevenson, Eals, Dickson, Tiffney, McCabe, Smith. Subs: McHaffey, Ferguson, Knight, Thomson.

Tranent: Adams, J Paterson, McKenzie, Todd, Kerr, K Paterson, Sinclair, Smith, Fisher, Conlon, Mitchell. Subs: Hawkins, Smeaton, Christie, Wood, Murray.

Gartcairn 3, Whitburn 0

Whitburn paid the price for not taking their chances as they crashed out of the Scottish Cup at the hands of Gartcairn. The West Lothian men created five good opportunities in the first hour at MTC Park, but failed to convert any of them. The West of Scotland League Central District Second Division outfit duly took 
advantage midway through the second period when Martin Hardy broke free at a corner and powerfully headed home. With their tails up, the hosts added two more goals, first through Jordon Love and then via ex-Burnie player Scott Murphy to seal the win.

Gartcairn: Halliwell, Brady, Dolan (Henderson 81), Kennedy, Ross, Patrick (Canning 72), Pettigrew, Murphy, Harty (Love 65), Misanjo, McAvoy. Subs: Morgan, Grier

Whitburn: Horne, Gardner, McQueenie, Skinner, Porteous (Taylor 72), Hamilton, Martin, Russell, Brass, Robertson, Bain. Subs: Adams, Graham, Wilson, Fairbanks

Penicuik Athletic 2, Scone Thistle 0

Penicuik dominated this Scottish Cup tie, but ultimately only won it by two goals. They showed their intentions right from the first 
whistle and should have taken the lead through Keith Lough before they finally opened the scoring on the stroke of half time when Ryan McCallum headed home a cross from Adam Montgomery. The second period was much the same as the first as the hosts piled on the pressure. They grabbed their second goal just three minutes from the end as Lough 
converted a cross from Ryan Gay.

Penicuik: Bejaoui, Sproule, Noble, Forbes, Young, Janczyk, K Scott, Barr, McCallum (c), Lough, Montgomery. Subs: Somerville, Hume, S Scott, Gay

Scone Thistle: Winton, Moon, MacDonald, Whitworth, Laing, Mitchell, Nije, Fergus, Mills, Mackie, Moffat. Subs: Angus, L Avolio, M Avolio, Hynd, MacKenzie

Renfrew 1, Arniston Rangers 0

Arniston suffered late heart-ache at Renfrew as the West Super League First Division side grabbed a last-minute winner through Scott Morton. In what was a fairly even encounter, Renfrew had the best chance to take the lead on 75 minutes when they awarded a penalty but Chris Zoc missed it. A replay in Gorebridge appeared to be on the cards, but Morton prodded home from close range to clinch a place in the next round.

Renfrew: Burgess, Barbour, Gallagher, Brogan, Hevron, Forbes, Vitalis, Benton, Zoc, Jones, McDade. Subs: Morton, Keith, Gordon.

Arniston: Cornet, Langdale, Deland, Callaghan, Brady, Lister, Porteous, McTernan, Somerville. Kataleza, Tobin. Subs: Jeffrey, Doig, McFadden, Ritchie.

Dundonald Bluebell 0, Newtongrange Star 0

A share of the Super League points was about right in one of the few Juniors fixtures to survive in Fife. In a scrappy first half, Newtongrange’s Lee Currie tried hard to get them up and running, creating openings without success. Dundonald had more luck in the second period with chances falling to Mark Forbes, Brodie Gray and 
Callum Young, but they couldn’t find the net and both teams had to settle for point apiece.

Dundonald: Wilson, Donnelly, 
McNab, Johnston, Waddle, Wallace, 
McKenzie, Smith, Forbes, Gray, Young. Subs: Watson, Jenkins, Turner.

Newtongrange: Amos, Swaney, 
Martinuik, Hamilton, Lally, Currie, 
Morris, Wilson, Lander, Flynn, Wright. Subs: Cropley, O’Brien, Bracks, 
Murray, Newman.