Spartans 13s make it a hat-trick of trophies

Spartans Under-13s triumphed 2-1 against Hutchison Vale to win the League Cup at New Dundas Park
Spartans Under-13s triumphed 2-1 against Hutchison Vale to win the League Cup at New Dundas Park
Have your say

Spartans 13s made it a hat-trick of trophies for the season after edging out Hutchison Vale 13s 2-1 in the League Cup thanks to super-sub Kyle Dempster’s winning strike at New Dundas Park.

Jordi Yewdale gave the North Edinburgh side an early advantage 12 minutes in with a neat finish in the area, only to see Hutchie’s Tom Davies fire in off the post shortly after to pull the scores level.

In the second half it seemed neither team was going to find a winner, but with eight minutes to go substitute Dempster popped up in the box to fire home what would prove to be the decider.

After already securing both the Division 1 title and the Peter O’ Neil Cup, the boys in red and white were eager for more silverware.

Their opponents, however, were equally as keen to end the season on a high and so the game began with both sides eyeing one another up, in a quiet and tense opening ten minutes.

Spartans started to patiently create, carving out a decent opportunity shortly after.

Reece Mason played a pass into Jack Crombie who was in space just outside the box. The number ten looked to test Dean Beveridge in the opposition goal but his effort went over the top.

It was the first sign of the kind of football Crombie’s side were capable of playing and they persevered with their approach to open the scoring minutes later. Yewdale showed good movement to cut in from the right-hand side and he fired a shot in at the near post which caught the Hutchie keeper off guard.

Having gone behind, the boys in black and yellow didn’t hesitate in searching for an equaliser. No less than five minutes after conceding, they pulled level. After some well-executed play in the middle of the park the ball was played to Cameron Fraser in the box and he squared it to Davies to send the ball in off keeper Harry Stone’s post from close range.

The next best opportunity fell to Hutchie who could easily have gone in ahead at the break. Davies was instrumental in setting up Rory Hamilton in the box but after spinning his marker the number 17 could only hit a shot straight into the welcome hands of keeper Harry Stone.

The final had become an enthralling end-to-end fixture as the half drew to a close and Spartans also came within a whisker of going in at the break with an advantage. Fresh off the bench, Campbell Swanson almost made an immediate impact for his side but his first-time shot from the edge of the box flew narrowly over the goal.

The game was evenly poised as the second half began with both sides knowing fine well one goal would potentially be enough to guarantee the silverware on offer. After coming the closest of the two sides to finding the net in the second 35, Spartans finally found the goal they had been dreaming of. Robbie Walker looked to aim a floated ball in from the right to Kieran Moyles, but the ball instead found substitute Dempster at the back post and he fired in with precision much to the delight of his team-mates.

With eight minutes to go Hutchie didn’t give up however and they could quite easily have taken the game to extra time. In a nervy finale to the game for Spartans, substitute Jamie Robinson almost provided a late assist when he played in James Gordon in the area but the number 12 volleyed inches wide of the target. With that, the final whistle was blown and Spartans had held on to secure their third honour of the 2014/15 campaign.

Spartans 13s: Harry Stone, Gregor Rolland, Thomas Baur, Kieran Moyles, Christopher Pearson, Jack Ewing, Reece Mason, Jack Crombie, Oskar Zieniewicz, Kyle Dempster, Keir Russell, Campbell Swanson, Jordi Yewdale, Luke Morris, Robbie Walker, Murray Lockhart.

Hutchison Vale 13s: Dean Beveridge, Rory Grant, Ben Reilly, Jonny Gordon, Jamie Crawford, Cameron Fraser, Jack Stewart, Tom Davies, Fletcher Hendry, James Gordon, Murray Wheeler, Jamie Robinson, Justin Akugbo, Blair Houston, Rory Hamilton.