Stuart MacFarlane holds nerve from the spot

Edinburgh Uni keeper Mark Tait (library pic)
Edinburgh Uni keeper Mark Tait (library pic)
Have your say

Stuart MacFarlane’s injury-time penalty secured Edinburgh University a draw in their Lowland League Cup Central Section A clash.

After five minutes, Edinburgh goalkeeper Mark Tait had to react quickly to deny Stirling’s Chris Geddes from converting as the visitors settled quickly into their game. However, Edinburgh’s Joe Aitken and Nathan Evans were dangerous too throughout a very even opening phase.

On 27 minutes, a well-placed free-kick from Ross Patterson was glanced over Marshall by Aitken but went just over. Connor Willaghan went even closer for Edinburgh with a fine header which hammered against the post.

On 42 minutes, Geddes opened the scoring for the visitors from ten yards out after good play by Monguel and Williams down the right-hand side.

Edinburgh was forced to bring on Calum Frain for the injured Aitken for the start of the second half. Finn Daniels-Yeoman was booked on 52 minutes as he sought to contain the lively Faulds in the midfield. The resultant free-kick by Williams from 30 yards out was brilliantly saved by Tait.

Monguel was booked for a dive as he drove forward with Stirling probing for a decisive second goal. The visitors continued to dominate possession and the Edinburgh defence was stretched repeatedly.

On 72 minutes, Edinburgh’s Duncan Black was dismissed for a late challenge on Williams.

With full time approaching Stirling’s Drummond was penalized for pulling Jackson back as a corner came in. MacFarlane calmly converted the resultant penalty to level the scores. Drummond was booked for his foul and Williams for his protesting the decision.

Edinburgh Univ: Tait, MacFarlane, Murray, Flett, Black, Daniels-Yeoman, Hely, Willaghan, Aitken, Evans and Patterson. Subs: Jackson, Frain, Johnston, Connington, Hainey.

Stirling Univ: Marshall, Monguel, Sheridan, Sutherland, Drummond, Robertson, Faulds, Leigh, Geddes, Williams, Duah-Kessie. Subs: Gillen, Kellock, Crooks, Bolam, Hughes.