Tynecastle strike back with vengeance

Tynecastle 17s completed a second cup triumph in a week with their 4-2 win over Hutchison Vale
Tynecastle 17s completed a second cup triumph in a week with their 4-2 win over Hutchison Vale
Have your say

A REMARKABLE comeback by Tynecastle 17s ensured a 4-2 triumph over Hutchison Vale in the final of the Edinburgh 
Prison Officers’ Social Club Cup at Bonnyrigg’s New Dundas Park – and a cup double.

Victory over arch-rivals Hutchie completed a memorable week for the youngsters in maroon who lifted their first piece of silverware last Saturday in the Craig Gowans Memorial final with defeat of Scottish Cup champions Spartans.

However, Tynecastle goalkeeper Cameron Tulloch, who was in fine form during his side’s defeat of Spartans, was absent from Wednesday night’s starting XI due to a rib injury which permitted under-16 shotstopper Billy Taylor to take his place between the sticks.

It didn’t take long for Taylor to get his first touch of the match, but unfortunately for the teenager it entailed picking the ball out of the net as Hutchie gained the initiative after just six minutes.

A long ball into the Tynecastle penalty area was expertly directed into the path of Shaun Stevens by the head of Dylan Moore, and the No. 7 struck a sweet, low-driven effort into the bottom left corner.

Three minutes later, Hutchie struck their second and it was Stevens again who accurately lobbed the ball over Taylor and into the far corner for his second in quick succession.

The Tynecastle players certainly looked jaded in the opening ten minutes with Hutchie looking to capitalise at every opportunity.

However, Tynecastle eventually began to take control with Gregor Lockhart, in particular, at the heart of his side’s attacking play.

Darren McCowat’s neat pass inside picked out team-mate Gavin Stevenson, who applied a neat turn before striking a powerful drive on Daniel Kerr’s goal which the Hutchie goalkeeper did well to block. Tynecastle’s Clayton Crowther’s surge from the middle of the park demonstrated some fantastic close control, but the player wanted too many touches in the Hutchie penalty box as the opportunity was eventually closed down.

Lockhart then tried his luck with a curling 25-yard effort which just missed the top right corner of Kerr’s goal before Hutchie should have made it three. Firstly, Reece Henderson’s effort was blocked by the legs of Taylor before Stevens’ follow-up was subsequently tipped round the post by the acrobatic Tynecastle No.1. Tynecastle wasted little time in reducing the two-goal deficit 
after the break when James Redpath drilled a low shot into the back of the net from 20 yards after Connor Brydon had been tripped.

Four minutes later, Tynecastle squared the match when Euan Lannon’s free kick picked out Liam McNeill, who got ahead of his marker to prod the ball in from close range. A third goal in the space of ten minutes sent a strong Tynecastle support into raptures on the terraces as Brydon provided an exquisite finish from just outside the box, controlling the ball before sending a looping half-volley past the faultless Kerr.

Tynecastle were simply rampant as their opponents struggled to comprehend the events that had occurred since the restart, and things got worse as Brydon made it four from a free kick, the No. 7 cleverly finding the far right corner of the net.

Substitute Azad Okan went close as Tynecastle searched for a fifth as his dipping effort went just over the crossbar before Hutchie eventually carved out their first clear opportunity of the second 45 when Liam Robert Henderson’s header went just wide.

Stevenson should have put the icing on the cake in the closing stages but completely missed the ball from Redpath’s cutback with the goal at his mercy.

Tynecastle FC: Billy Taylor, Darren McCowat, James Redpath, Ryan Travis, Scott Siegel, Gregor Lockhart, Connor Brydon, Euan Lannon, Sean Williamson, Liam Ure, Azad Okan, Shaun Munro, Blair Rutherford, Danny Baron, Liam McNeill, Gavin Stevenson, Clayton Crowther, Bradd Campsie.

Hutchison Vale: Daniel Kerr, Adam Murray, Ross Anderson, John Pearson, James Roger-Jones, Dean Robertson, Shaun Stevens, Dylan Moore, Jordan Combe, Liam Robert Henderson, Devin Keith, John Burnside, Calum Livingston, Reece Henderson, Sean Alexander Elliot, Aaron Flynn.