Young’s screamer wins League Cup for Dunbar 17s

Have your say

Ryan Young hit a 30-yard winning strike to help Dunbar United Colts 17s defeat Bonnyrigg Rose 17s 3-2 in the Michael Moran League Cup final at Hallhill.

After Young gave his side the lead early on the in the second half, Rose rallied with two quick goals of their own from Cameron Alexander and Blair Jones to turn the game on its head.

With still half an hour to be played however, Dunbar kept calm and levelled the scores through Cameron McAlpine before Young stole the show with a cracking long-range effort.

United almost pulled off a stunning opening goal from out of nowhere five minutes in. Luke Archibald tried his luck from 25 yards out and it looked to be heading in, but the faintest of touches from Brian Taylor in the Bonnyrigg goal was enough to keep the effort out as the ball hit the underside of the bar.

After a spell of possession, Rose eventually began to have some joy in the final third. After some patient build up Jonathan Crutcher had a fantastic chance to test United keeper Stuart Allan from just inside the box, but his effort was straightforward for the man between the sticks.

Within 20 seconds of the restart, Dunbar had the ball in the net. They kicked off and worked the ball to Young, who fired into the far corner from the right hand side of the box.

Bonnyrigg then began to play their best football of the final as they turned the scores around in the space of seven minutes. Crutcher provided the output for the first as he whipped the ball from the right to Alexander to tap in from close range. Following that, a penalty was awarded when Rohan McDowell was hauled down in the area. Jones made no mistake.

No sooner had Bonnyrigg turned their fortunes around however, Dunbar brought the scores level once again. McAlpine took aim from the 20 yards with a well-placed shot into the top corner past Taylor

Then came the defining moment of the final; a square ball from the left found Young 30 yards out and he sent a sublime effort home for the win.

Dunbar United Colts 17s: Stuart Allan, Luke Archibald, Rory Pilbeam, Dylan Gillies, James Forrest, Harry Bowles, Conal Prior, Ewan Stark, Ryan Young, Cameron McAlpine, Kyle Binning, David Darling, William Phillips, Callum Brading, Kieran Armstrong, Tyler Robinson

Bonnyrigg Rose 17s: Brian Taylor, Lewis Gray, Greg Young, James Wilson, Rohan McDowell, Alexander Tait, Max Roarty, Blair Jones, Cameron Alexander, Jose De Tejada, Jonathan Crutcher, Lewis Seath, Adam Crawford, Tyrese Reynolds, Nicholas Allan, Cameron Archibald