Spartans pair score with women’s football awards

Share this article
Have your say

Spartans duo Debbi McCulloch, left, and Kerry Montgomery, were the toast of the Scottish women’s football when they collected the 2014 Manager of the Year and Player of the Year Awards, respectively, at their Ainslie Park ground.

National team manager Anna Signeul made the presentations as voted on by competition peers.

McCulloch came out on top from Inverness City’s Bruce Morrison and Glasgow City’s Eddie Wolecki-Black after taking her team to their inaugural Scottish Cup Final whilst they finished fourth in the league, becoming the first team in six years to defeat Glasgow City in domestic competition.

Montgomery topped a four-strong short list after scoring 12 times in 26 games.

Fellow Spartans’ Sarah Ewens, Glasgow City pair Jo Love and Denise O’Sullivan were also nominated.

Every Tuesday we feature your grassroots sports stories in the Edinburgh Evening News. To have your story considered for publication please email Bill Lothian, or telephone 0131 311 7539.