Golf: Lothians turn to new blood

LOTHIANS, the 13-time winners, have named three newcomers in their six-strong side for the Scottish Area Team Championship at Blairgowrie next weekend.

Tuesday, 8th May 2012, 1:11 pm

Craigielaw’s Ross Noon and Dunbar duo Zander Culverwell and Danny Kay will join forces with another Dunbar man, Stephen Simants, Kingsknowe’s Allyn Dick and Graham Robertson of Silverknowes for the event in Perthshire.

Dick and Robertson, both winners of 2011 SGU Order of Merit events, played at Prestwick last year, as did Simants when the team finished fourth.

Since then, Kay has earned a place in the SGU squad, helped by him reaching the final of the Scottish Amateur Championship last year. Former Lothians champion Culverwell won the Battle Trophy, another Scottish Order of Merit event, at Crail last year.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

Meanwhile, top seed Lesley Nicholson is through to the last four in the East Lothian Women’s Championship over her home course at Haddington.

She beat Dulcie Barnes (Gullane Ladies) 5 and 4 in the second round to set a last-four clash this morning with North Berwick’s Elinor Blair.

The other semi-final involved Susan Penman (Gullane Ladies) and Gifford’s Mary Lou Renton. Penman crushed North Berwick’s Ros Thoresen in her last eight-tie while Renton beat Keren Ward (Glen).

Today’s handicap final was between Jean McNeill, the defending champion from Longniddry, and Musselburgh’s Irene Gray.