Duddingston pin hopes on undefeated Gus Santana

Gus Santana has flourished since ditching darts
Gus Santana has flourished since ditching darts
Have your say

GUS SANTANA is aiming to help Duddingston hit the bullseye tomorrow after laying down his darts to be an Edinburgh Summer League star.

Duddingston, bidding to lift the title for the first time since 2006, take on Royal Burgess, winners six times in the last seven years, in the final at Mortonhall.

The two clubs drew both matches in their meetings in the round-robin phase, so it looks a close one to call as this season’s tournament comes to a conclusion.

One prize already decided is the Most Valuable Player award, which Santana secured by going through the campaign undefeated to this point.

“A fantastic achievement,” said Duddingston team manager Alan Banks of Santana’s success. “He’s put his darts career on hold and got the golf bug back this year.

“That has definitely helped his game and you don’t see many more people try harder than Gus on the golf course.”

In the qualifying campaign, Duddingston finished ahead of Royal Burgess, who then pulled off a superb away win at Longniddry in the quarter-finals.

That kept alive their hopes of regaining the title they held for six years before neighbours Bruntsfield Links won it 12 months ago.

“It has the potential to be a cracking game,” added Banks. “We have managed to have a fairly consistent team this year which has allowed us to remain undefeated.

“However, we know it will be a really tough game against an experienced Burgess team and I hope supporters turn up in numbers from both clubs.”

Royal Burgess head into the title showdown hoping history is going to repeat itself. “It is repeat of the 2013 final, when we also finished runners up to Duddingston, again with Silverknowes losing out in the bid to reach the knock-out phase,” said Derek MacGillivray, the Barnton club’s team manager.

“The fact that two teams from the same section have qualified for the final shows the strength of that group and two drawn matches against our fellow finalists sets up what should be an intriguing final.”

Duddingston (from): Mike Armstrong, Scott Dickson, Shaun Gordon, Cameron Hay, Paul Heggie, Michael Hymers, David Miller, Gus Santana, Conor Scott, John Shepherd, Stuart Smith, Gary Thomson, Derrick Williams.

Royal Burgess: Gordon Archibald, Stephen Buckley,Paul Desoisa, John Fraser, Joe Lockie, Malcolm Pennycott, Brian Tait, Varun Varadharajan, John Yuille.