Gabrielle teams up with Grant in Craigielaw win

Grant Forrest and Gabrielle Macdonald delivered the match-clinching point for Craigielaw
Grant Forrest and Gabrielle Macdonald delivered the match-clinching point for Craigielaw
Have your say

GABRIELLE MACDONALD has become the first woman to represent Craigielaw in the East Lothian Winter League – with Grant Forrest as her partner.

The star duo joined forces on home soil to deliver the match-clinching point in a 3-2 win over the Glen in Division 2.

With the outcome hanging in the balance, the two former Scottish champions beat Innes Christie, the visiting captain, and Steve Scott 3&2.

“I didn’t want to let Gabrielle down,” said Walker Cup winner Forrest, who will be unavailable for Craigielaw’s next match due to the fact he’s been selected to represent Scotland in the forthcoming Spirit International event in Texas.

Elsewhere, Dunbar started their season with a home win against Haddington, while both promoted sides struggled on the opening day of their respective Division 1 campaigns. Longniddry lost at home to Royal Musselburgh while Tantallon couldn’t make home advantage count either, eventually going down 4½-½ to visitors Musselburgh.


Division 1

Tantallon ½ Musselburgh 4½: Fraser Symon & Michael Davidson halved with Tom Cordery & Liam Tiffney; Benn McLeod & Declan Henderson (Musselburgh) won; Simon Holt & Scott Young lost to Connor Good & David Murray 1 hole; A Macaskill & Jonathan Shinton lost to Jamie Wright & Calum Burgess 1 hole; Eddie Danks & Paul Howson lost to Brian Henderson & Ian Fyfe 3/2.

Longniddry 1½ Royal Musselburgh 3½: Michael Bacigalupo & David Connolly beat Chris Ratcliffe & Scott Cunningham 4/3; Peter Henderson & Jonny Watt lost to Stuart Blair & Liam Reid 1 hole; Connor Farrell & Andrew Brown lost to Lindsay Shepherd & Gordon Millar 1 hole; Daniel Eardley & Calum Satterley halved with Chris Mackie & Jamie Ramsay ; Paul Neil & Chris Algeo lost to John Hall & Ross Colquhoun 4/3

Division 2

Craigielaw 3 Glen 2: Craig Davidson & Tony Whitelaw beat Mark Lutton & Graeme Noblett 6/4; Gregor Maiden & Mark Watt beat Stevie Dunn & Gordon Burns 6/4; John Mann & Drew Sharp lost to Callum Greenhill & Jim Jack 5/4; Gerry Gilmour & Gordon McSorley lost to Finlay Goodlad & Tom Rintoul 1 hole; Grant Forrest & Gabrielle MacDonald beat Steve Scott & Innes Christie 3/2.

Dunbar 4 Haddington 1: No details reported