Golf: Lamond hoping East can secure West a ‘miracle’

Have your say

WEST team manager Jimmy Lamond reckons his side need a “miracle” to be crowned as champions tomorrow.

The Fife & Lothians Golf Associations Winter League concludes with Fife hosting East in a rearranged match at The Dukes on the outskirts of St Andrews.

East came out on top when the sides last clashed just before Christmas at Winterfield, keeping West’s lingering title hopes alive in the process.

“We need another miracle,” admitted Lamond. “We need Fife to get beat – any other result and they’ll be champions.

“It has been out of our hands since we should have taken a point off Fife at the start of the season.”

Unsurprisingly, Fife team manager Bill Dickson is rolling out some of his big guns for the decisive encounter.

James White, last year’s Scottish Order of Merit winner, spearheads the home side, which also includes Scotland squad members Brian Soutar and Scott Crichton.

“I have called on as strong a team as possible to try and secure the title,” said Dickson.

“After such a good year for Fife golf, it would be a good way to start 2012 by winning the league as it has been a while since we did that

“We will give it our best shot, but it won’t be easy as East are a strong side and have some very good players.”

Lamond noted: “Hopefully the fact that the match is being played at The Dukes will act as a bit of a spur for the East boys.”

Danny Kay, the beaten finalist in last year’s Scottish Amateur Championship, is making his first appearance of the campaign for Tom Gowan’s team.

Battle Trophy holder Zander Culverwell is also in the visiting line-up, as is Ross Noon, the 2011 Lothians Order of Merit winner.

“It is an unusual position to be in – knowing that we can’t win the title but can play a part in its destiny,” said Gowan.

“We are going there aiming to show we are a strong team and, hopefully, we can record a fourth win of the campaign.”

Fife: James White, Brian Soutar, Gary Sharp, Scott Critchon, Scott Stewart-Cation, Kev Blyth, Ally Hain, Ryan Walsh, Josh Jamieson, Greg Forrester.

East: Danny Kay, Zander Culverwell, Ross Noon, Stephen Simants, David Warner, Benn McLeod, Marc Simants, Scott Cunningham, Calum Burgess, Ross Millar.