Golf round-up: Allyn Dick equals record | New champ at Kingsknowe

Allyn Dick equalled a 60-year record when he won the Carrickvale club championship for he third year in a row.

By The Newsroom
Thursday, 5th July 2018, 7:30 am
Updated Friday, 6th July 2018, 12:06 pm
Allyn Dick won the Carrickvale club championship for the third year in a row
Allyn Dick won the Carrickvale club championship for the third year in a row

The ex-Lothians champion pitched in for a birdie at the 17th against Paul Cunningham before winning that semi-final clash with a birdie at the first extra hole. He then produced “pretty much a perfect performance” against Colin McKenzie in the final, being five-under in round one.

• Craig J Cruickshank beat five-time winner Davie Campbell in the final for the second year running in the Ratho Park club championship. Rising star Ciaran Paterson, 15, claimed the junior title for the first time while Anne Wheelhouse won the ladies’ senior crown for the fourth year in a row and David Fraser won the gents’ equivalent for the fourth time in five years.

• • Hamish Hamilton is the new Kingsknowe club champion after beating Marc Cairnie 4&3 in a clash between two first-time finalists. Backing up his Hailes title triumph last year, Hamilton set up the victory by winning five holes in a row from the seventh. Louise Fraser won the ladies’ title for the 13th time after beating Rachel Livingston at the 18th in a repeat of last year’s final.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

Craig J Cruicksnak

• Neil Sneddon made the most of being let off the hook in the semi-finals to retain the Royal Burgess title. He eventually won at the 22nd in the last four after opponent Sandy Gray missed three times from around four feet for the match. Sneddon then beat Malcolm Pennycott 3&2 in the final after the pair were all square at lunch. Robbie Main won the junior event at the Barnton club.

Hamish Hamilton
Neil Sneddon was victorious at Royal Burgess