Golf round-up: Lothians turn to East quartet

Cameron Gallagher will be one of the quartet at Stranraer
Cameron Gallagher will be one of the quartet at Stranraer
Have your say

Lothians have turned to the east’s rising stars in a bid to try and win back the Scottish Boys Area Team title at Stranraer.

The four spots for the June 18 event have all been handed to East Lothian players – Longniddry duo David Rudd and Cameron Gallagher, Kilspindie’s Aaron Hall and Connor Wilson from Castle Park.

The quartet will be bidding to reclaim the crown from Lanarkshire, last year’s winners at Grangemouth.

Lothians are record 12-time winners, with five of those successes coming in the last nine years.

• Midlothian call up Steedman

Helping Murrayfield land the Edinburgh Inter-Club title for the first time since 1984 has earned Caroline Steedman a Midlothian call-up.

She’s been named in the team for the Scottish Counties Cup qualifier at Stirling on June 28 along with Broomieknowe duo Hannah Darling and Kate McIntosh, Alison McBride (Harburn), Gabrielle Macdonald (Craigielaw), Karen Ferguson-Snedden (Duddingston), Karen Marshall (Baberton) and Louise Fraser (Kingsknowe).

• Humble falls at final hurdle

Bob Humble fell at the final hurdle in his bid to win the Kilspindie championship for the 21st time at the age of 68.

He lost 8&7 in the 36-hole title decider to Rob Paterson as he claimed the crown for a second time, having also been junior champion in 2012.

“A worthy champion,” said Humble, who’d rolled back the years to lead the qualifiers following rounds of 63 and 65, of his conqueror. “A really nice guy and a great ambassador for Kilspindie.”

• Seniors titles up for grabs

The entry date is looming for one of the most eagerly-anticipated events on the popular Seniors circuit.

This year’s Lothians Seniors Championship, open to players over 55, is taking place at Pumpherston on July 3, when two coveted trophies will be up for grabs.

The Ian MacNiven Trophy is the prize for the best nett score while the player with the best scratch effort gets the R M Lees Trophy.

Entries close on June 19.