Golf: Summer League woes for Royal Burgess

Have your say

ROYAL BURGESS, winners six years in row before losing the title to neighbours Bruntsfield Links, are struggling to reach the knock-out phase in this season’s Edinburgh Summer League.

The Barnton side were held to a 4-4 draw at home by Duddingston, who preserved their unbeaten record thanks to Stuart Smith winning the last with a birdie to beat 
Gordon Archibald. “An honourable draw, but not really good enough us as we really needed a win,” said Royal Burgess team manager Derek MacGillvray.

The spoils were also shared as West Linton, last year’s beaten finalists, hosted Kingsknowe.

“Four wins in a row for Kingsknowe left us needing a late show from Nick Barr and myself to rescue a draw for the home team,” reported West Linton’s Paul Neil.

Defending champions Bruntsfield Links won at Royal Musselburgh while Newbattle’s 6-2 success at Dalmahoy was one of the Eskbank club’s best-ever results in the event.

Mortonhall also won on the road at Prestonfield, where Graeme Clark won the top match for the visitors, helped by an eagle 2 at long 12th hole.

While pleased with his side’s 7-1 home win over Craigmillar Park, Glencorse team manager Peter Lamb singled out one of the visiting players for praise. “The outstanding performance of the night was by Conor O’Toole, who, at 14, must be the youngest ever in the Summer League and is a star in the making,” he said.

If Broomieknowe need to rely on ‘goal’ difference to make it to the last eight, then an 8-0 home win over Musselburgh will certainly be helpful.


Dalmahoy 2, Newbattle 6: George Johnston lost to Stuart Thorburn 4&3; Stephen Murray lost to Scott Stables two holes; Andrew Mason lost to Fraser Jervis 5&3; Steven Lees lost to Gary Rodgers 2&1; Kevin Messer bt Graeme Reid 3&2; Stuart Wardell lost to David Paterson 2&1; Alan Fleming lost to Colin Sturgeon 2&1; Brad Muir bt John Hunter 4&3.

Baberton 7.5, Merchants 0.5: C Malone bt A Helm 5&4; S Carmichael bt R Craig 2&1; T Cannon bt v J Cavin 2&1; D Smith bt D Murray 8&6; G Young halved with A Brown; D Waugh bt M Leitch 3&2; S Marshall bt I Clark one hole; J Downie w/o M Stein.

Glencorse 7, Craigmillar Park 1: Sean McGarvey bt David Walker 2&1; Derek Thomson bt Barry Nelson 5&4; Ali Shanks bt Brian Davies Jnr 2&1; Darren Coyle bt Paul Logan 3&2; Justin Lamb bt Iain Welsh 5&3; Peter Lamb bt Craig Smith 2&1; Kenny Carson bt Connor O’Toole one hole; Mike Louden lost to Sandy Scott 5&3.

Royal Burgess 4, Duddingston 4: Joe Lockie bt David Miller one hole; John Fraser lost to Gary Thomson 3&2; Malcolm Pennycott bt Cameron Hay 2&1; Stuart Cochrane lost to Gus Santana 2&1; Gordon Archibald lost to Stuart Smith one hole; Brian Tait bt John Shepherd 7&5; Sandy Gray bt Scott Dickson 2&1; John Yuille lost to Conor Scott 4&3.

West Linton 4, Kingsknowe 4: Sean Walter bt Gary Malone 4&3; Adam Stott bt Mike Foley 2&1; Scott MacKay lost to Bill Buchan two holes; Andrew Raeburn lost to Justin White two holes; Paul Taylor lost to Nathan McCulloch 7&6; Graeme Yule lost to Paul Bradbury 4&3; Paul Neil bt Alan Mackay two holes; Nick Barr bt Marc Cairnie 2&1.

Broomieknowe 8, Musselburgh 0: Jamie McIntosh bt Ian Fyfe 3&2; Sean Marc bt Tom Cordery 8&6; Kevin Hastings bt Brian Henderson 6&5; Alan Sim bt Jack Valentine 2&1; Colin Renton bt David Murray one hole; Kenny Smith bt Jamie Wright 2&1; Scott Reid bt Declan Henderson 4&3; Niall Webster bt Liam Tiffney 3&2.

Prestonfield 3.5, Mortonhall 4.5: A Stewart lost to G Clark 5&4; S Johnston bt S Scott one hole; L Blyth halved with G Boyd; JJ O’Neil bt D Hamilton two holes; I Highley lost to A Main 4&3; G Emerson lost to G Clarke 2&1; H Stott bt C Timms 2&1; K McGhee lost to I Dickson 2&1.

Royal Musselburgh 3.5 Bruntsfield Links 4.5: Stuart Blair bt Graeme Nisbet 7&6; Lindsay Shepherd lost to Keith Mackenzie 4&3; Ross Colquhoun bt Stuart McLaren two holes; Chris Mackie halved with Drew McIntosh; Gordon Miller lost to Kevin Cattanach 5&4; Scott Cunningham lost to Douglas Livingstone 3&2; Craig Johnstone bt Alan Anderson one hole; John Hall lost to Derek Miller one hole.