Lothians round-up: Club championships are hard fought

editorial image
Have your say

Rory Smith, who helped George Heriot’s win this year’s Dispatch Trophy, is the Dalmahoy champion for the third year in a row.

The 21-year-old maintained his winning run in the event with a 4&3 triumph over Murray Naysmith in the final after being the No.2 seed.

• Arran McHardy is Prestonfield champ

Arran McHardy beat Scott and Duncan Johnston, who fought out a father-and-son final last year, en route to becoming Prestonfield club champion. He beat Allan Stewart 4&3 in the title showdown on a day when the winners also included 13-year-old clubgolf product, Naomi O’Brien.

• Mark Napier is the boss at Turnhouse

Mark Napier claimed the Turnhouse title for a first time with an 8&7 success over Olly McCrone after leading qualifier Euan McIntosh (64-69) was unavailable for the match-play. Susan Rennie won the women’s event while Andrew Hendry beat Connor Currie 6&5 to retain the junior title.

• Ross Thomson wins second Gullane title

Lindsay Gordon fell at the final hurdle in his bid to land a ninth Gullane title – 46 years after his first success. He lost to Ross Thomson, who claimed the crown for a second time after also winning the coveted prize in 2005.

• Hat-trick for Bacigalupo

Michael Bacigalupo is the undisputed top dog at Longniddry after completing a title hat-trick in its club championship. He made it three in a row with a 6&4 victory over Peter Henderson, vice captain of Longniddry’ team, in the 36-hole title shoot-out.

• Darling wins club title at 13

Thirteen-year-old Hannah Darling is Broomieknowe’s new women’s champion after beating Scottish cap Kate McIntosh 3&2 in the final. Her eye-catching success came on the same day that Sean Marc secured a fourth men’s title with a 9&8 win over Scott Reid.