Musselburgh emerge as Winter League contenders

Have your say

Musselburgh have emerged as title challengers to champions Gullane in the East Lothian Winter Golf League.

Dunbar recently brought Gullane’s impressive winning run to an end but two subsequent disappointments for them have left Dunbar in a relegation fight. One of those was a 3-2 home defeat by Musselburgh, who moved level at the top with Gullane in the process after the title holders were held at Royal Musselburgh.

In a bottom-of-the-table clash, North Berwick secured their first win of the campaign away to the Glen. The 2013 champions now look forward to the visit of Royal Musselburgh early in the new year knowing they must keep up their winning ways to remain in the top flight.

In the Second Division, Tantallon moved into the promotion places with a solid home win against Kilspindie. Meanwhile, Longniddry were much too strong for Craigielaw and their 3½-1½ win moved them into top spot.

That sets up a mouthwatering clash on January 4, when these two teams face each other in what looks set to be a promotion decider.

Before then, Haddington can return to the top. They travel to Musselburgh Old this Sunday knowing a win will lift them above both Longniddry and Tantallon.

Elsewhere, Whitekirk dealt with the challenge of Thorntree to move up a couple of places.

Division 1

Royal Musselburgh 2½, Gullane 2½: Chris Ratcliffe & Chris Mackie lost to John Clelland & Ross Thomson 7/6; Willie Reid & Liam Reid beat Scott Walker & Barry Templeton 4/3; Craig Johnstone & John Hall lost to Kenny Wright & Greg Houlston 2/1; Stuart Blair & Kenny Fee halved with George Thomson & Alan Smith ; Lindsay Shepherd & Gordon Millar beat Murray Saunders & Scott Gillies 4/2.

Glen 1½ North Berwick 3½: Mark Lutton & Graeme Noblett halved with Euan Donaldson & Gordon Milligan; Chris Timms & Andrew Hogg lost to Chris Wood & Mike Gray 2/1; Callum Greenhill & James Clark lost to Kevin Messer & Weston Main 3/2; Gary Reid & Jim Jack lost to Craig Hardie & Horry Lawson 2/1; Innes Christie & Dennis McGill beat John B Stewart & Douglas Turner 4/3.

Dunbar 2 Musselburgh 3: no details reported.

Division 2

Tantallon 4 Kilspindie 1: Joe Lockie & Euan Bowden beat David Watters & Duncan Hamilton 1 hole; Shaun Gordon & Liam Brown beat Carter Jerome & Rob Paterson 4/3; Fraser Symon & Michael Davidson beat Derek Naples & John Owenson 4/3; Simon Holt & Richard Gill beat Martin Hay & Calum Wilson 2 holes; Eddie Danks & Greig Govenlock lost to Grant Robertson & Bob Makin 3/2.

Castle Park vs Gifford: match postponed due to snow.

Whitekirk 3 Thorntree 2: Ian Jones & Craig McCartney beat Brian Fairgrieve & Keith Auld 6/5; J Bradley & D Burt lost to Grant McDonald & Graeme Fletcher 1 hole; Kenny Plain & Stuart Hall beat Craig Baillie & Bob Walkingshaw (ret); Ian Fraser & David Jeffery beat Cameron Johnston & Adam Hislop (ret); David Smith & Gordon McDonald lost to Grant Fleming & Steven Fairgrieve 3/2.

Longniddry 3½, Craigielaw 1½: Fraser Johnstone & Marc Owenson beat Gary Webb & Drew Sharp 7/6; Andy Brown & John Watt beat Greg Smail & Ollie Duffy 2/1; Ross MacKay & Bruce Robertson lost to Craig Davidson & Tony Whitelaw 4/3; David Rudd & Chris Algeo beat Donald Palmer & Craig Kinross 6/4; Chris Jamieson & Michael Bacigalupo halved with Gordon McSorley & Gregor Maiden.