Naysmith bites dust at the Braids

Share this article
Have your say

LEADING qualifier Murray Naysmith crashed out in last night’s first round of golf’s 
Lothians Boys’ Championship at the Braids.

The Marriott Dalmahoy teenager lost on the last to Murray Patterson, who has his sights set on completing a Bruntsfield Links double after clubmate Alan Anderson’s title triumph in the men’s equivalent last month.

One up after ten, Paterson lost two holes in a row, squared matters again at the 13th before edging in front when Naysmith found gorse with his drive at the 15th. And, though Naysmith hit back straight away by winning the 16th, he made a hash of the 17th to lose that to a 
bogey-4 before the last was halved in pars.

The three other members of the Lothians side defending the title in this week’s Scottish Boys Area Team Championship at Prestwick all progressed.

Alexander Wilson (The Renaissance) produced some prodigous hitting and was four-under in beating a younger opponent in Murrayfield’s Andrew Ni.

Lewis Bain from Musselburgh also produced sub-par figures as he beat Whitekirk’s Ross Millar while Tantallon’s Calum Hill had a comfortable victory against Rob Paterson (Kilspindie).

Other winners were Willem Kerr (Craigielaw), Joe Bryce (Bathgate), Rory Smith 
(Dalmahoy) and Chris Curran (Harburn).

Up against Curran, Carrickvale’s Josh Cullerton was two up after three before being pegged back to all square with eight to play. Curran then won the 12th and 13th, and was still two up after 16 before losing 17 to a 4 after coming up short with both his tee shot and his second shot.

He also lost the 18th after a putt from off the green finished 12 feet short whereas Cullerton drove the green and two putted for a birdie. At the extra hole both players found the green in two but a three-putt from Cullerton cost him the match.

First-round results: M Paterson (Bruntsfield Links) bt M Naysmith (Marriott Dalmahoy) by one hole; W Kerr (Craigielaw) bt J Valentine (Musselburgh) 3 and 1; A Wilson (The Renaissance) bt A Ni (Murrayfield) 6 and 5; J Bryce (Bathgate) bt L Lawson (Turnhouse) 3 and 2; R Smith (Dalmahoy) bt M Napier (Dundas Parks) 3 and 2; L Bain (Musselburgh) bt R Millar (Whitekirk) 2 and 1; C Curran (Harburn) bt J Cullerton (Carrickvale) at 19th; C Hill (Tantallon) bt R Paterson (Kilspindie) 6 and 4.