Brunstfield badminton win Schools Championship

Bruntsfield Primary
Bruntsfield Primary
Have your say

A great badminton tradition is being maintained at Bruntsfield Primary after a successful defence of the Gibb Memorial Quaich, awarded to the winners of the Scottish Schools Championship.

The triumph, at Ravenscraig Sports Centre, was all the more meritorious as Bruntsfield had to put together a new-look team after many of those responsible for the 2013 success moved on to high school.

There was also a new coach, Mike Louden, who is off to a flying start in succeeding Robbie Robertson after 25 years of providing assistance and encouragement.

Bruntsfield earned the right to progress to the national finals by overcoming The Mary Erskine School to lift the Edinburgh Quaich and at the finals each opponent from the North East, Ayrshire, Lanarkshire, East Renfrewshire, Glasgow, Mid/East Lothian and Moray was beaten.

A squad of ten represented Bruntsfield and a rotation policy saw eight children play five games in each match, demonstrating real strength in depth.

Prior to 2013, Bruntsfield last lifted the Scottish title in 2003 and the current crop earning a place in school folklore are Eilidh McCallister, Zazou Wycherley, Rachel Maclean, Kirsty Peng, Isla Leach, Akira Samejima, Joseph Carlyle, Hamish McCallister, George Norman, Philip Bergeret, Ben Richmond and Lachlan Bradford.

See tonight’s newspaper for more pictures and stories from grassroots sport.