Scotland caps for city volleyballers

Have your say

Three City of Edinburgh players have been named in Scotland’s volleyball squad for this weekend’s European Championship Small Countries Division finals in Luxembourg.

Niall Collin will captain the team and he is joined by clubmates Graeme Spowart and Connor Boyle.

The squad has been boosted by former City player Mark McGivern, who helped ASUL Lyon to the brink of the French League title this season.

Olympic team-mate Chris Lamont is also in the squad after playing in Holland with Inter Rijswijk.

The only Scots in Great Britain’s Olympic men’s team in 2012, their experience will boost Scotland’s hopes of winning a medal after winning through last year’s qualifying group in Iceland. Scotland face favourites Cyprus, Luxembourg and the Faroe Islands.

Scotland squad: M McLaughlin, A Galloway, S MacKenzie (all Su Ragazzi); G Spowart, N Collin, C Boyle (all City of Edinburgh); R MacLeod, S Hendry (both Glasgow Mets); S Wilson (South Ayrshire); C Lamont (Inter Rijswijk, Holland); M McGivern (ASUL Lyon, France), S Cook (Skylift SSS, Holland).