Capital pair promoted to Scotland Under-20s

Robbie Nairn
Robbie Nairn
Have your say

Capital rugby prospects Robbie Nairn and Blair Kinghorn have been brought into the Scotland under-20s squad for the first time ahead of this summer’s World Championship in Italy in June.

The form of the two schoolboys this term for the Scotland under-18 side clearly impressed under-20s head coach Sean Lineen.

Nairn, the George Watson’s College winger, has already played senior rugby for Currie in 2014/15 while next season he will be part of the Harlequins academy down south.

Edinburgh Academy’s current first XV captain Kinghorn, a stand-off, has earned five under-18 caps this year and scored a memorable try on his debut against England at that level.

The duo are among nine Edinburgh-based players in the squad. The others are Jamie Ritchie, Magnus Bradbury, Dan Elkington, Ally Miller, Callum Sheldon, Ruairi Howarth and Ruaraidh Smith. Melrose duo Neil Irvine-Hess and Lewis Carmichael are also in the group.

After three wins in the Six Nations – at home to Wales, Italy and Ireland – the under-20s will head to Italy in confident mood, but Lineen knows they face very tough matches against New Zealand, Ireland and Argentina.

“The World Championship will provide a real opportunity for them to prove themselves at a higher level,” head coach Lineen said.

Scotland under-20s squad

Forwards: Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh Rugby/Boroughmuir), Lewis Carmichael (Melrose), Scott Cummings, Andrew Davidson (both Glasgow Warriors/Glasgow Hawks), Dan Elkington (Watsonians), Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors/Glasgow Hawks), Ross Graham (Hawick), Neil Irvine-Hess (Melrose), Sam James (Wasps), Ruaridh Knott (Melrose), Murray McCallum (Aberdeen Grammar Rugby), Ally Miller (Edinburgh Rugby/Watsonians), Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby), Gary Robertson (Gala), Callum Sheldon (Edinburgh Rugby/Watsonians), Lewis Wynne (Stirling County).

Backs: Alec Coombes (London Scottish), Tom Galbraith (Melrose), Richard Galloway (University of Birmingham), George Horne (Glasgow Hawks), Ruairi Howarth (Edinburgh Rugby/Gala), Rory Hutchinson (Northampton Saints), Patrick Kelly (Le Parc), Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Academy/Edinburgh Academicals), Robbie Nairn (George Watson’s College/Currie), Archie Russell (Stirling County), Ruaraidh Smith (Currie), Ben Vellacott (Gloucester/Hartpury College).