Edinburgh ‘A’ send Warriors packing

Jade Te Rure, on trial, kicked two conversions and a penalty
Jade Te Rure, on trial, kicked two conversions and a penalty
Have your say

Edinburgh winger Damien Hoyland showed the club’s supporters a glimpse of what they can expect in the future as he scored two tries to help the ‘A’ team defeat their Glasgow Warriors’ counterparts last night.

On the back pitches at BT Murrayfield, Hoyland and other fringe men took the opportunity in the 27-10 victory to show what they can do.

Former James Gillespie’s High School pupil Hoyland, who started his club rugby career with Boroughmuir, joined Edinburgh in the summer on a two-year deal. Since then the 20-year-old has not been involved in the first-team squad, but he has gained experience with Scotland Sevens and showed that he has taken confidence from that.

Last night Edinburgh opened the scoring in the first half when scrum-half Sean Kennedy slipped Hoyland a nice pass and he went over under the posts. Kiwi trialist Jade Te Rure converted the try.

A second try came through fellow winger Tom Brown and although Glasgow fought back with two tries, the second half belonged to the hosts. Firstly Heriot’s back-row Jason Hill went over with Te Rure converting and then the latter kicked a penalty. Hoyland then added his second try.

The likes of Stuart McInally, Simon Berghan and Jamie Ritchie also played well for Edinburgh.

Scorers: Edinburgh Rugby ‘A’: Tries: Hoyland (2), Brown, Hill. Pen: Te Rure. Cons: Te Rure 2. Glasgow Warriors ‘A’: Tries: Hughes, Eddie.

Edinburgh A: R Howarth; D Hoyland, C Dean, J Dominguez, T Brown; J Te Rure, S Kennedy; N Beavon, S McInally, S Berghan, O Atkins, A Toolis, J Ritchie, M Bradbury, H Blake. Subs used: J Hilterbrand, S Cessford, C Hunter-Hill, J Hill, Z Mercer, A Glashan, C Bezuidenhout, G McConnell, C Anderson.

Glasgow Warriors A: G Bryce; L Young, G Young, J Downey, R Hughes; F Lyle, A Price; J Yanuyanutawa, F Scott, M Cusack, S Cummings, A Kellock, T Spinks, J Eddie, W Bordill. Subs used: G Hunter, J Malcolm, Z Fagerson, R McAlpine, J Agnew, L Wynne, M Smith, B McPherson, D Armstrong, G Lowe, R Norville, D McLuskey, P Ramsay, R Fergusson.