Edinburgh Accies to host Heriot’s in BT Cup first round

Have your say

Capital rugby teams Edinburgh Accies and Heriot’s will meet in the first round of the 2017/18 BT Cup.

The format of the competition has been altered to a 16 team straight knock-out tournament, featuring all 10 clubs from last year’s BT Premiership and the top six clubs from BT National League Division One.

The ties will be played on November 18 with Phil Smith’s top-flight outfit travelling to Raeburn Place to take on Derek O’Riordan’s men.

Currie Chieftains will head to Ayr, Watsonians are on the road to Glasgow Hawks and Boroughmuir are at home to Gala.