George Watson’s share U-16 Cup with Strathallan

George Watson's players shake hands with their Strathallan counterparts after the match
George Watson's players shake hands with their Strathallan counterparts after the match
Have your say

George Watson’s College under-16s drew with Strathallan School 5-5 last night, meaning the Scottish Rugby Schools Cup was shared after an entertaining final.

The game at BT Murrayfield got off to quite a tight start with both teams struggling to put phases together but, in the eighth minute Strathallan had the first real chance.

They attacked well down the right wing and George Watson’s full-back Thomas Urquhart put in a great tackle to keep them out.

George Watson’s first attack of note came in the 15th minute when back-row Joseph Cantle did well to latch on to a loose ball at a lineout.

No.8 Stuart Gibson then went close to a try before being bundled into touch and then they had a number of forward drives towards the opponent’s line, but Strathallan held firm and the ball was knocked on.

A few minutes later, George Watson’s did take the lead when Cantle barged his way over for the unconverted try.

They then looked to have added to their tally when centre James Milligan went over in the corner, but play was called back.

Strathallan missed a penalty on the stroke of half-time.

Seven minutes into the second half, Strathallan levelled things up at 5-5 when their replacement Finlay Laird went over in the corner.

Strathallan kept up the pressure but, with 12 minutes to go, things were still level before George Watson’s lost Urquhart to injury.

Both sides gave it their all in the closing stages, but the defences held firm.

Scorers: George Watson’s College: Try: Cantle. Strathallan School: Try: Laird.

George Watson’s College: Thomas Urquhart; Blair Grant, Callum Hoffie, James Milligan, Jamie Cheung; Louis Millar, Jack Forrestor; James Wilson, Jamie Holligan, Stuart Wright, Ben Marshall, Angus Stevenson, Joseph Cantle, Stuart Gibson, Murray Tink. Subs: Callum Ke, Myles Campbell, Grant Jackson, Alexander Davidson, Fraser Mealyou, Daniel Ryan, Ewan Evans.

Strathallan School: Greig Brown; Sandy Aitken, Tom Clark, Will Goddard, Euan Nicol; Calum McKeown, Aedan Brennan; Murphy Walker, Harry Stewart, Douglas Stirrat, Myles Reid, Oscar Gleave, Lewis Webster, Hamish White, Cameron Henderson. Subs: Finlay Laird, Euan Sutherland, Jack O’Brien, Lochlan Beveridge.

Referee: Alex Obreja.