Revealed: The 11 Edinburgh players in the Scotland Summer Tour squad

Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend has included 11 Edinburgh Rugby players in his 33-man squad for the Summer Tour of Argentina, Canada and the USA.

Tuesday, 8th May 2018, 12:05 pm
Updated Tuesday, 8th May 2018, 12:10 pm
Stuart McInally will skipper the side in the absence of John Barclay and Greig Laidlaw. Picture: SNS Group

There are six uncapped players named, with Edinburgh duo Lewis Carmichael and Jamie Ritchie among the potential debutants.

Stuart McInally has been named captain in the absence of John Barclay and Greig Laidlaw, who have both been given the summer off, with the Edinburgh hooker joined by ten of his club mates including Carmichael and Ritchie.

Simon Berghan, Magnus Bradbury, Allan Dell, Grant Gilchrist, Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, Blair Kinghorn, Murray McCallum and Ben Toolis will all travel with the squad.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Harlequins midfielder James Lang, capped by Scotland at Under-18 level, is included despite having previously declared for Wales.

The other newcomers are Glasgow Warriors trio Matt Fagerson, Adam Hastings and George Horne.

Townsend said there were “twin goals” for the upcoming tour, adding: “The first is to build on the work we’ve done so far this season and finish with improved performances.

“We also have the Rugby World Cup in our thoughts, as this will be our last tour before we leave for Japan next year.

“Touring and staying together for four weeks and experiencing different environments will be very informative - seeing how players get on with each other, how much they improve and how they rise to each challenge we face on tour.”

A number of regulars have been given an extended break, with Barclay and Laidlaw among those rested. Unavailable through injury are Luke Crosbie, John Hardie, Huw Jones, Willem Nel and Hamish Watson.

Notable absentees include Jonny Gray, Sean Maitland, Gordon Reid, Finn Russell, Tommy Seymour and Ryan Wilson, who all featured in the Six Nations campaign.

Scotland face Canada at the Commonwealth Stadium in Edmonton, on June 9; the USA at the BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston on June 16 before taking on Argentina on the weekend of June 22 at the Estadio Centenario in Resistencia.


Simon Berghan (Edinburgh Rugby), Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors), Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh Rugby), Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors), Lewis Carmichael (Edinburgh Rugby), Allan Dell (Edinburgh Rugby), David Denton (Worcester Warriors), Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby), Richie Gray (Toulouse), Luke Hamilton (Leicester Tigers), Murray McCallum (Edinburgh Rugby), Stuart McInally CAPT (Edinburgh Rugby), Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby), Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors), George Turner (Glasgow Warriors), Ben Toolis (Edinburgh Rugby).


Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors), Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors), Chris Harris (Newcastle Falcons), Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors), Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (Edinburgh Rugby), Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors), George Horne (Glasgow Warriors), Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors), Ruaridh Jackson (Glasgow Warriors), Lee Jones (Glasgow Warriors), Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby), James Lang (Harlequins), Byron McGuigan (Sale Sharks), Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors), Duncan Taylor (Saracens).