Rugby: Heriot’s fare best among city clubs

Colin Goudie of Heriot's is caught near the try line. Picture: Ian Rutherford
Colin Goudie of Heriot's is caught near the try line. Picture: Ian Rutherford
Have your say

Heriot’s were the only 
Edinburgh-based club to make it as far as the quarter-finals at the Melrose Sevens on 
Saturday, the Goldenacre men then losing out to eventual champions Saracens.

Phil Smith’s charges had a bye into the second round where they took on Edinburgh Accies.

Accies, with Scotland Sevens teenagers Chris Dean and Alex Glashan involved, had seen off Howe of Fife 19-14 in the first round with Alex Blair to the fore.

In the Heriot’s-Accies match the former came out on top 31-7 with Scotland Sevens cap Michael Maltman leading the way with a couple of tries. Fraser Brown, Colin Goudie and Graham Wilson also scored for Heriot’s with the Accies’ try coming from Nyle Godsmark.

In their last eight tie against English pro side Saracens, Maltman and Max Learmonth scored tries, but Heriot’s eventually went down 31-10.

Of the other Capital clubs involved at the Greenyards, Currie and Stewart’s Melville lost in round one with Boroughmuir and Watsonians going out in round two.

In the first-round match between Boroughmuir and Currie the Meggetland men won it 22-5 before they took on Worcester Warriors. In that one ’Muir were playing really well and led 21-10 with tries coming through David Reekie, Damien Hoyland and Sam Johnson. However, the Warriors came back and edged them out agonisingly 22-21.

Stewart’s Melville lost to Gala 33-7 while Watsonians saw off Glasgow Hawks 26-5. The Myreside men then came up against the host club Melrose and got off to a poor start to trail 17-0. Two tries from Scott McKean and one from Chris Scott saw them go up 19-17 and silence the crowd for a moment only for Allan Dodds to pop up and score a winning try for Melrose.

In the final, Clermont Auvergne were leading Saracens heading into the closing seconds until Joe Maddock scored a try and Nils Mordt converted to win it 24-22 and repeat the latter’s success of 2012.