Rugby: Young guns given chance to stake claim at Murrayfield

Share this article
Have your say

Top under-17 players in Edinburgh and the surrounding areas parade their talents tonight at Murrayfield against their Glasgow counterparts in the first of a series of age-group matches leading to selection for national teams this season.

Edinburgh “Blacks” kick off proceedings at 6pm, followed by Edinburgh “Reds” at 7.30pm.

Edinburgh “Blacks”: Ryan Frost (Stew-Mel), Sam Bandeen (Hawick), Alex Swan (Edin Acad/Currie), Rory Watt (Porty HS/Muss), Iain Sim (Duns), Scott Docherty (Stew-Mel), Douglas Crawford (Merchiston), Calum Crookshanks (Earlston), Rory Scott (Trinity HS), Chris Baikie (Dunbar), Craig Kyle (Hawick), Gregor Law (Jed), Angus Sinclair (Merchiston), William Brown (Watson’s), Richard Harrison (Peebles). Subs: Aaron Hogg (Hawick), Adam Wright (Langholm), Billy Waddle (Kelso), Matthew Wilson, Andrew Thomson (both Jed), Scott Halliday (Peebles), Glenn Welsh (Hawick), Scott Richardson (Jed).

Edinburgh “Reds”: Richard Taylor (Earlston), Scott Murchie (Stew-Mel), Sean Mackie (Loretto), Matthew Douglas (Hawick), Cameron Pye (Peebles), Henry Slater (Merchiston), Duncan Swanson (Edin. Acad.), William Kesley (Stew-Mel), Cameron Mackay (Earlston), Andrew McWilliam (Edin Acad). Angus Runciman (Earlston), Lewis Carmichael (N Berwick), Karl Main (Dunbar), Finlay Simpson (Edin Acad), Rory Simpson (Hawick). Subs: Murray Bryce (Earlston), Reece Patterson (N Berwick), Michael Gillespie, Neil Irvine-Hess (both Watson’s), Scott Burnside (N Berwick), Ally Johnstone (Kelso), Russell Mackay (Earlston), William Edwards (Fettes).