Scotland: Watson and Toolis on bench, Visser out

Hamish Watson
Hamish Watson
Have your say

Edinburgh Rugby pair Hamish Watson and Ben Toolis were today primed to win their first Scotland caps when Italy visit BT Murrayfield in the RBS Six Nations Championship on Saturday.

Both are on the bench with Watson replacing the dropped Al Strokosch while Toolis owes his chance to an injury sustained by Jim Hamilton.

In the starting line-up Peter Horne will earn his seventh cap replacing suspended stand off Finn Russell while also in the backs fit-again Tommy Seymour, taken off against France at the start of the tournament, ousts Tim Visser on the winger.

The other starting changes are up front.

Tim Swinson gets the nod to replace the injured Richie Gray while Euan Murray returns for Geoff Cross having been unavailable for the Sunday fixture against Wales on religious grounds.

Altogether there are five Edinburgh players on stand-by; Matt Scott retains his place as does Greig Tonks, the only un-used sub against Wales.

And there will be delight that rising scrum half star Sam Hidalgo-Clyne has passed concussion protocols to retain his place.

Second row Ben Toolis, 22, arrived at Edinburgh last season from Australia and qualifies due to a Scottish mother.

Hamish Watson, 23, was out of favour for almost all of last season but a man-of-the-match award in a pre-season friendly against Leicester set him on his way and even a broken jaw last October has failed to halt the progress of this dynamic open side flanker.

Scotland team: Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors), Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors), Mark Bennett (Glasgow Warriors), Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors), Sean Lamont (Glasgow Warriors), Peter Horne (Glasgow Warriiors), Greig Laidlaw (Gloucester), captain, Alasdair Dickinson (Edinburgh Rugby), Ross Ford (Edinburgh Rugby), Euan Murray (Glasgow Warriors), Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors), Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors), Rob Harley (Glasgow Warriors), Johnnie Beattie (Castres), Blair Cowan (London Irish). Subs: Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors), Ryan Grant (Glasgow Warriors), Geoff Cross (London Irish), Ben Toolis (Edinburgh Rugby), Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby), Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (Edinburgh Rugby), Greig Tonks (Edinburgh Rugby), Matt Scott (Edinburgh Rugby),