Six Nations call for uncapped Edinburgh prop Rory Sutherland

Rory Sutherland has been rewarded for his fine performances at Edinburgh Rugby
Rory Sutherland has been rewarded for his fine performances at Edinburgh Rugby
Have your say

SCOTLAND head coach Vern Cotter today named uncapped Edinburgh prop Rory Sutherland in a 35-man Scotland squad for the 2016 RBS 6 Nations.

Fellow uncapped prop Zander Fagerson, of Glasgow Warriors, has also been included.

Sutherland, 23, has impressed for the Edinburgh since signing from Gala last season.

Fagerson turns 20 tomorrow, meaning he could become the fourth youngest prop in Scottish rugby history.

There is no place for his Warriors team-mate Ryan Wilson, who faces a potentially lengthy ban after being cited for allegedly grabbing the testicles of Northampton’s scrum-half Lee Dickson.

Exeter Chiefs tighthead Moray Low and Glasgow Warriors hooker, Pat MacArthur, earn selection for the first time since the summer of 2014.

Glasgow centre Alex Dunbar also makes his return to the national team camp, ten months after a knee injury killed off his hopes of featuring at last year’s World Cup.

Scotland get their campaign underway against England at BT Murrayfield on Saturday, February 6 (kick-off 4.50pm).




Ross Ford (Edinburgh Rugby) – 94 caps

Pat MacArthur (Glasgow Warriors) – 6 caps

Stuart McInally (Edinburgh Rugby) – 2 caps


Alasdair Dickinson (Edinburgh Rugby) – 52 caps

Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – uncapped

Moray Low (Exeter Chiefs) – 29 caps

Willem Nel (Edinburgh Rugby) – 8 caps

Gordon Reid (Glasgow Warriors) – 15 caps

Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh Rugby) – uncapped


Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) – 19 caps

Richie Gray (Castres) – 51 caps

Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors) – 17 caps

Ben Toolis (Edinburgh Rugby) – 1 cap


Adam Ashe (Glasgow Warriors) – 6 caps

John Barclay (Scarlets) – 45 caps

Blair Cowan (London Irish) – 15 caps

David Denton (Bath) – 32 caps

Chris Fusaro (Glasgow Warriors) – 4 caps

John Hardie (Edinburgh Rugby) – 5 caps

Josh Strauss (Glasgow Warriors) – 5 caps



Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (Edinburgh Rugby) – 8 caps

Greig Laidlaw CAPTAIN (Gloucester) – 46 caps


Finn Russell (Glasgow Warriors) – 15 caps

Duncan Weir (Glasgow Warriors) – 21 caps


Mark Bennett (Glasgow Warriors) – 13 caps

Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors) – 14 caps

Peter Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 15 caps

Matt Scott (Edinburgh Rugby) – 33 caps

Duncan Taylor (Saracens) – 12 caps


Sean Lamont (Glasgow Warriors) – 101 caps

Sean Maitland (London Irish) – 20 caps

Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors) – 22 caps

Tim Visser (Harlequins) – 23 caps


Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors) – 38 caps

Ruaridh Jackson (Wasps) – 27 caps