Seeds continue to fall in West Lothian Masters

Round three of the Johnston Oils-sponsored West Lothian Masters ruled two more seeds out of contention for the £1000 title with Andrew Dunnett (3) of Queensferry and Bryan Cooper (9) of Bathgate both biting the dust.

By The Newsroom
Thursday, 4th August 2016, 4:13 pm
Updated Thursday, 4th August 2016, 5:18 pm

Dunnett, who captured the inaugural title in 1999 before adding a second Green Jacket in 2007, suffered a crushing 21-6 defeat in 17 ends from Adam Gilliland of Bankton Mains (Livingston). Meanwhile, Cooper, a WLM finalist in 2008 and a Champion of Champions finalist last season, was polished off 21-8 in 14 ends by David Lamb of Uphall Station.

Eight of the original 16 seeds continued to make progress with Gary Smith (5) of Linlithgow beating Brian Clarkson of Winchburgh 21-16.

Neil Speirs (4) of Kirkliston beat Tam Whitfield of Glenmavis 21-15. Speirs was joined in the next round by his clubmate Ray Logan (14), who clinched a 21-16 win over Derek Logie of Linlithgow.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

Ewan Shearer (6) of Bo’ness stepped up his bid to add to his 2001 Masters triumph with a 21-7 win over Paul White of Blackburn while 2014 winner Brian Craig (7) of Glenmavis impressed at the 21-9 expense of clubmate Sandy McDougall.

Ryan Miller (10) – last year’s runner-up from Buchan Park – beat Eddie Caulfield of Bellsburn 21-12 while Connor McKendrick (15) of Middleton Hall beat Jack McLaren of Glenmavis; and Grant Logan (2) of Kirkliston beat his clubmate Andi Gray.