Edinburgh school holidays 2021/22 - Summer holiday and term dates for Edinburgh City Council schools

These are the dates for the summer holidays at Edinburgh City Council schools for the year 2021/22.

Monday, 17th May 2021, 11:52 am

It’s been a tumultuous time for schoolchildren, teachers, and parents.

The school timetable has been shaken up thanks to the coronavirus pandemic – with children only returning to classrooms after the Easter holidays this year.

Meanwhile, exams have been replaced with controversial new assessments which have been criticised as putting too much pressure on learners who have already had a stressful school year.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

If you have a child in an Edinburgh City Council school, here’s our guide to their term dates and holidays for the year 2021/2022.

Schools set their own start and finish times, so you may have to contact your child’s school to find out what time pupils finish on the last day of term.

When are the summer holidays in 2021?

Due to the circumstances, there will be two exceptional in-service days in all mainstream secondary schools in Scotland to give teachers extra time to prepare for the Alternative Certification Model.

Edinburgh school holidays 2021/22 (photo by Andrew O'Brien)

In Edinburgh, these will be on Tuesday 25 May and Wednesday 9 June.

Term ends on Friday 25 June 2021. Then the next term starts on Wednesday, 18 August 2021.

Key dates for Autumn Term 2021

There will be an autumn holiday on Monday, 20 September this year.

The mid term break will take place from Monday 18 to Monday 25 October 2021.

The autumn term will end on Friday, 17 December.

When are the Christmas holidays?

This year schools will break up for Christmas from Monday 20 December 2021 to Wednesday 5 January 2022.

Then, the spring term starts on Thursday, 6 January 2022.

There will be a mid term break from Monday 14 February to Friday 18 February 2022.

The spring term ends on Friday, 8 April 2022.

Next year, the Easter holidays will take place on Monday 11 April to Friday 22 April.

When are the summer holidays for 2022?

Next year, the summer term starts on Monday 25 April 2022.

There will be a May Day holiday on Monday, 2 May 2022. Then on Tuesday, 3 May, there will be a staff only day.

Victoria Day is another summer term holiday taking place on Monday 23 May, 2022.

And the term is scheduled to end on Thursday, 30 June 2022.

A message from the Editor:

Thank you for reading this article. We're more reliant on your support than ever as the shift in consumer habits brought about by Coronavirus impacts our advertisers.

If you haven't already, please consider supporting our trusted, fact-checked journalism by taking out a digital subscription.