What parts of Scotland have new restrictions? Full list of places with new rules - and what areas are covered under Central Belt and Forth Valley

Five health board areas in Scotland, including Edinburgh and Glasgow, are subject to tighter restrictions following “significantly high” levels of Covid-19 infections

Friday, 9th October 2020, 8:39 am
While the whole of Scotland has been issued with new rules, these are the areas subject to the tightest restrictions (Photo: Jeff J Mitchell/Getty Images)
While the whole of Scotland has been issued with new rules, these are the areas subject to the tightest restrictions (Photo: Jeff J Mitchell/Getty Images)

The First Minister laid out a “short, sharp” package of measures which will take effect in Scotland from 6pm on Friday (9 October).

Under the new rules, indoor hospitality venues will be required to operate between 6am and 6pm daily, selling food and non-alcoholic drinks only, while outdoor bars will be allowed to serve alcohol until 10pm.

In Scotland’s five regions with the highest number of cases (which include Glasgow and capital city, Edinburgh) licensed premises will have to shut for a 16-day period. However, they are still permitted to offer takeaway services.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

Read More

Read More
Read more: Central Belt: Where is it, how did it get its name and everything els...

What is the central belt?

In short, the central belt stretches from Glasgow in the west all the way to Edinburgh in the east.

Anything north of the Scottish central belt is known as the Highlands, and anything south, the Lowlands.

In the announcement from the First Minister, she referred to five health boards as being part of the central belt and at greater risk of increased virus transmission.

These five health boards are:

- Greater Glasgow and Clyde

- Lanarkshire

- Ayrshire and Arran

- Lothian

- Forth Valley

NHS Scotland consists of 14 regional NHS Boards that provide services across the people of Scotland.

Greater Glasgow and Clyde

NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde serves a population of 1.2 million, and is the largest NHS organisation in Scotland, and one of the largest in the UK.

Regions served:

- City of Glasgow

- East Dunbartonshire

- East Renfrewshire

- Inverclyde

- Renfrewshire

- West Dunbartonshire

The main hospital sites are: Gartnavel Campus, Glasgow Royal Campus, Inverclyde Hospitals Campus, New Victoria Hospital, Queen Elizabeth University Hospital Campus, Royal Alexandra Campus, Stobhill Campus, Vale of Leven and West Glasgow Ambulatory Care Hospital.


NHS Lanarkshire is responsible for the health of more than 563,185 people living within the North and South Lanarkshire local authority areas.

Under the NHS Lanarkshire umbrella are three district general hospitals - University Hospital Hairmyres, University Hospital Monklands and University Hospital Wishaw.

NHS Lanarkshire employs around 12,000 staff in communities, health centres, clinics and offices.

Forth Valley

NHS Forth Valley serves a population of around 300,000, and serves the following areas:

- Clackmannanshire

- Falkirk

- Stirling

Included in the Forth Valley area are places like Bo’ness, Bonnybridge, Balfron, Aberfoyle, Killin, Alva and Tillicoultry.

Hospitals in NHS Forth Valley are Forth Valley Royal Hospital, Stirling Health & Care Village, Falkirk Community Hospital, Clackmannanshire Community Healthcare Centre, Bo’ness Community Hospital, Bellsdyke Hospital and Day Hospital.


NHS Lothian provides services for the second largest residential population in Scotland, around 800,000 people, and employs approximately 24,000 staff.

NHS Lothian serves:

- East Lothian

- Edinburgh

- Midlothian

- West Lothian

NHS Lothian has a range of locations, with three hospitals with Accident & Emergency departments: Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh, Royal Hospital for Sick Children and St Johns Hospital.

Ayrshire and Arran

NHS Ayrshire and Arran caters to a population of around 367,000.

NHS Ayrshire and Arran serves:

- East Ayrshire

- North Ayrshire

- South Ayrshire

NHS Ayrshire and Arran hospitals are: University Hospital Ayr, University Hospital Crosshouse, Ailsa Hospital, Arran War Memorial Hospital, Ayrshire Central Hospital, Ayrshire Maternity Unit, Biggart Hospital, East Ayrshire Community Hospital, Girvan Community Hospital, Kirklandside Hospital, Lady Margaret Hospital, Woodland View.