Scottish Election 2021: Nicola Sturgeon, Douglas Ross, Anas Sarwar, Willie Rennie, Lorna Slater and Patrick Harvie head to the ballot box as Scotland’s party leaders vote in Holyrood election

The leaders of Scotland’s political parties have gone to polling stations to cast their votes in the Holyrood election.

Scottish Labour leader Anas Sarwar voted at his local polling station at Pollokshields Burgh Hall in Glasgow on Thursday morning.

Mr Sarwar is standing against First Minister Nicola Sturgeon in the Glasgow Southside constituency, which includes Pollokshields.

Hide Ad

Ms Sturgeon has already voted by post but she will join SNP candidate Rosa Salih at Annette Street Primary School polling station in Govanhill, Glasgow, to lend her support and meet a Syrian family as they cast their ballots.

Scottish Greens co-leader Lorna Slater will vote at a primary school in Edinburgh, while her fellow co-leader Patrick Harvie will vote at a school in Glasgow.

Scottish Conservative leader Douglas Ross will vote in Moray, while Alba Party leader Alex Salmond cast his ballot in Strichen, Aberdeenshire.

Hide Ad

Scottish Liberal Democrat leader Willie Rennie has already voted by post.

A message from the Editor:

Hide Ad
Scottish Labour party leader Anas Sarwar, with wife Furheen and son Ailyan, arrives to deliver his postal vote in the Scottish Parliamentary election at Pollokshields Burgh Hall in Glasgow.

Thank you for reading this article. We're more reliant on your support than ever as the shift in consumer habits brought about by coronavirus impacts our advertisers.

Hide Ad

If you haven't already, please consider supporting our trusted, fact-checked journalism by taking out a digital subscription.