Scottish Election results 2021 RECAP: Alex Salmond concedes Alba unlikely to win seats | SNP's Angus Robertson takes Edinburgh Central from Scottish Conservatives | Nicola Sturgeon and John Swinney win constituencies | Labour's Jackie Baillie holds onto Dumbarton | Turnout surges | Interactive constituency map

The count for perhaps the most consequential Scottish Parliament election in history has begun.
Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

Take a look back on the events as they happened throughout the day.

Scottish Election 2021 RECAP: Election results and updates from across Scotland

Key Events

  • Angus Robertson takes Edinburgh Central from Tories
  • Sturgeon plays down chances of SNP majority
  • SNP take Ayr from Tories in tight race
  • Salmond concedes Alba unlikely to win seats
  • SNP gain East Lothian from Labour

SNP holds Cunninghame North

Kenneth Gibson wins Cunninghame North for the SNP.

SNP: 18,227

Conservative: 10,451

Labour: 7,536

Liberal Democrat: 967

WATCH: Michelle Thomson wins Falkirk East for SNP

Labour holds key SNP target seat

Jackie Ballie holds onto Dumbarton seat for Labour, having held the seat for 22 years.

Scottish Labour: 17,825

SNP: 16,342

Jackie Baillie increases her majority with Labour hold

Scottish election 2021 results: This is how the constituency map of Scotland looks now

SNP hold onto Motherwell & Wishaw

SNP Clare Adamson is re-elected as MSP for Motherwell & Wishaw.

SNP: 18,156

Labour: 10,343

Conservative,: 4,472

Liberal Democrat: 557

Scottish Libertarian Party: 254

Scottish Labour's Jackie Baillie retains her Dumbarton seat