Bowls: East Lothian target last four in Scottish Cup

East Lothian ladies aim to keep their run in the indoor bowls Scottish Cup going with a place in the semi-finals at stake when they face Balbardie in tomorrow's clash at Bainfield, writes STEWART MEIKLE.

Friday, 17th March 2017, 5:30 am
Updated Friday, 24th March 2017, 10:01 am

Their 9-1 demolition of Premier League play-off finalists Midlothian in the first round was followed by an 8-2 triumph over Stirling and expectations in the camp are high that the confidence built up by that momentum will inspire a victory over their Bathgate-based opposition.

East Lothian finished a massive ten points ahead of Balbardie in the recently completed Premier Division East League and that included taking all four points against tomorrow’s rivals.

East Lothain team:

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Rink 1: Margaret Murray, Jean Russell, Megan Kivlin, Emma Logan.

Rink 2: Melissa Penman, Muriel Hamilton, Irene Gray, Yvonne Veitch.

Rink 3: Pat Turner, Margaret Devine, Gillian Mackintosh, Lauren Baillie.

Rink 4: Hazel Fender, Cathy Ward, Margaret Thomson, Janet Fairnie.

Balbardie team:

Rink 1: Sarajane Wright, Erin Fraser, Margaret Scally, Josie Bachini.

Rink 2: Nicole Flannigan, Lynn McDougall, Delia Flannigan, Angela Uttley.

Rink 3: Irene Horsburgh, Helen Keys, Kim Ross, Sharon Leith.

Rink 4: Betty Johnston, Nan Mitchell, Helen Wilson, Lorraine Craig.

BALBARIE IBC have reached the semi-final stage of the 17 club Central District Top Six Seniors Championship and are set to face Alloa at Midlothian IBC on Sunday, March 26.

Meanwhile, it was a major moment in the national presidential year of Catherine Shearer of Balbardie IBC when she hoisted aloft the coveted Clara Johns Trophy retained by the Scotland Ladies’ team at the British Isles International Series played at Belfast.

Scotland romped to wins over Wales (151-88), Ireland (172-85), and England (129-84).

Local heroes in the six rink team included East Lothian trio Emma Logan, Yvonne Vietch, and new cap Dee Hoggan, also Stacey McDougall of Midlothian and Balbardie’s Lorraine Craig.