No SFA action for captain Steven Naismith after clashes with Scott Brown in Hearts' Scottish Cup final draw with Celtic
The pair clashed several times during the 3-3 draw after extra-time with one first-half challenge in particular splitting opinion between pundits at half-time.
Naismith’s studs landed on the Celtic captain’s upper thigh in the 18th minute of the William Hill Scottish Cup final but John Beaton did not take any action at the time. Celtic scored the opener a minute later through Ryan Christie.
English referee Marc Halsey has claimed it was worthy of a red and Naismith “know’s what he is doing”. Chris Sutton also believed the Hearts man was a ‘lucky boy’ for escaping censure for the challenge but Ally McCoist countered the former Celtic striker in the half-time discussion on Premier Sports.
Naismith was booked in the 62nd minute and he and Brown were also spoken to for jostling in Conor Hazard’s goalmouth at several Hearts corners in the second half, and Brown gesticulated to Naismith following Leigh Griffiths’ extra-time goal.
However it appears no further action will be taken. Compliance officer Claire Whyte had until 3pm today to raise a notice of complaint following the weekend matches.
The pair have history – as well as being Scotland team-mates, they have collided on previous occasions with Naismith offered a two-game ban for a tackle on Brown at Tynecastle in 2018.
The compliance officer can act if a ‘clear and obvious error’ has taken place or an incident missed. However John Beaton’s sanction and various discussions with the pair throughout their tussles at Hampden, have been deemed sufficient and no further action brought.