Heriot-Watt University end 16-year wait to win Queen's Park Shield

Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now
Heriot-Watt University have been crowned Scottish University champions for the first time in 16 years.

Banji Koya’s team beat Stirling University 2-1 in the Queen's Park Shield final at Oriam – the winning goal coming five minutes from time.

Campbell Marr took advantage of a ball into the box that was missed by two Stirling defenders and the goalkeeper to slot home the decisive goal.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Stirling had taken an early lead with a tidy curling effort from Jason Jarvis before equalised from the penalty spot through captain and man of the match Craig Smith.

Watt won the Shield five times in a row from 2004 to 2008 but not since. There hasn’t been a winner for the past two years due to Covid.

Related topics: