4 Pundits unanimous on Rangers penalty vs Hibs as Ibrox flashpoint leads to bafflement and raging rant

There was a controversial incident during the Hibs defeat to Rangers.
The incident occurred in the first half of Rangers vs Hibs.The incident occurred in the first half of Rangers vs Hibs.
The incident occurred in the first half of Rangers vs Hibs.

The pundits have been left stunned by a penalty that was given against Hibs during a 3-1 Premiership defeat to Rangers.

Nectar Triantis was deemed to have fouled John Souttar by VAR, as referee David Dickinson was called to the monitor for a second look. James Tavernier missed the penalty and Scott Wright's follow-up was cancelled out for encroachment but the decision has still sparked debate.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Tavernier, Cyriel Dessers and Rabbi Matondo goals eventually put Nick Montgomery's side to the sword, with Myziane Maolida scoring for Hibs. The pundits have been left confused on the Sportscene couch, with Scotland hero James McFadden saying: "I don't think it's a penalty.

"First of all, Triantis is going for the header and he only has his eyes on the ball. John Souttar just doesn't get the leverage he is looking for. I just think he (Triantis) gets up nice and early. You need to use your arms to jump and John Souttar just can't get the height. Look, it's a sore one for John Souttar, there is absolutely no doubt about it, but it's not a penalty for me."

Former Rangers and Hearts winger Neil McCann was in agreement. He said: "I don't think John Souttar is getting anywhere near it...I have been surprised by some of the penalty decisions that are being given."

Host Steven Thompson added his thoughts to the debate with an equally perplexed verdict. He added: "And for the referee to be invited to go to the monitor after it...I am with you. I'm baffled by it."

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

That analysis came after Michael Stewart's angry rant on the decision via Sportsound. The former midfielder fumed: "That is nonsense. Ok, there is a collision but that's not a penalty kick. If you are giving a penalty for that, I mean give up!

"The ball is going over his head and Triantis is trying to jump for it, and he has got a booking and a yellow card against him. That is a nonsense. He will be feeling hard done by. The thing is if you think that is a penalty kick then you have to understand there is an element of risk, but somebody doesn't have to be blamed. There is a coming together and he is trying to head the ball."

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.