Linlithgow battle back to lift trophy

Linlithgow Rose won the Fife and Lothians Cup, although they had to come from behind to beat nine man Broxburn Athletic.

Monday, 28th May 2012, 1:08 pm

The early part of the game had been end to end and just as the Rose looked like getting on top, Broxburn scored. It was then Broxburn who dominated against a ragged Linlithgow but the newly promoted side were unable to capitalise. The Broxburn goal was in 20 minutes when Morrison continued his run after giving to Jeffrey, touching the return ball into the net from close in.

Linlithgow boss Mark Bradley had been unhappy with his side’s performance to that point, stating: “I let them know at half time that it was a final and they need to turn up. They looked hungrier and we didn’t.”

The pep talk clearly had an effect as Linlithgow equalised in 53 minutes. Broxburn keeper Holiday saved from Coyne but the ball went straight back to the Rose forward who crossed for Strickland to fire in at the far post.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

Broxburn reacted but in 57 minutes Martin pulled a shot wide of the post. It was a significant miss as the ball went straight to the other end where Manson cleverly lobbed the advancing Holiday.

Things got worse for Broxburn in 67 minutes when Roycroft got a second booking. Four minutes later a flashpoint saw Kiczynski foul Roddy MacLennan and with players reacting four bookings included Cowan, his second of the match, and Broxburn were down to nine players.

Linlithgow were well on top but Broxburn had a shout for a penalty when the ball bounced up and appeared to hit McKenzie’s hand, but there was no award.

The Rose did not seal the win until a minute into time added on. Shirra crossed for Coyne to head in unmarked from close in.

Linlithgow’s Stephen Manson was named man of the match, stating: “We knew it was going to be a hard game and I am delighted we got the win.”

Broxburn manager Steve Pittman congratulated the winners. He said: “Linlithgow deserved their win in the end” However, he described the turned down penalty claim as “a major decision”.

Linlithgow: Hay, Tyrrell, Nelson, McKenzie, Walker, Shirra, Manson, Herd, Strickland, Coyne, Roddy MacLennan (Smith 77) Subs: Benton, McArthur, Fleming, Bradley, Allison

Broxburn: Holiday, Roycroft, Gibson, Cairns, Kiczynski (Fairweather 74), Pittman, Martin, Morrison, Cowan, Jeffrey, Young Subs: Martindale, J Miller, Purves, McPhee, G Miller, Maley