Scotland's UEFA Nations League fixtures revealed

Scotland will open their first UEFA Nations League campaign at home to Albania on Monday, September 10.

By The Newsroom
Wednesday, 24th January 2018, 5:52 pm
Updated Friday, 26th January 2018, 3:20 pm
The UEFA Nations League groups were drawn in Lausanne today. Picture: AFP/Getty Images
The UEFA Nations League groups were drawn in Lausanne today. Picture: AFP/Getty Images

The inaugural draw placed the Scots in Group One of League C with the Albanians and Israel.

Scotland, currently managerless after failing to secure the services of Northern Ireland boss Michael O’Neill, will travel to Israel for their second fixture on Thursday, October 11.

A November double-header will then complete Scotland’s schedule, away to Albania on Saturday, November 17 before closing their campaign against Israel at home three days later.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

As Scotland were drawn in the only group of three, friendlies will be scheduled to fill the two vacant fixture dates in September and October.

The winner of the group will go into a play-off – consisting of a one-legged semi-final and one-legged final – with the other three who also top their respective groups in League C to clinch qualification for Euro 2020.

If any of the group winners qualify through the traditional Euro 2020 qualifiers, which will take place between March and November 2019, the play-off spot(s) will go to the best runner(s) up in League C.

The play-offs will take place in March 2020, just three months before the Euro 2020 finals kick off.

Scotland’s Nations League fixtures

Scotland v Albania: September 10, 2018

Israel v Scotland: October 11, 2018

Albania v Scotland: November 17, 2018

Scotland v Israel: November 20, 2018



Group One: Germany, France, Netherlands

Group Two: Belgium, Switzerland, Iceland

Group Three: Portugal, Italy, Poland

Group Four: Spain, England, Croatia


Group One: Slovakia, Czech Republic, Ukraine

Group Two: Russia, Sweden, Turkey

Group Three: Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Northern Ireland

Group Four: Wales, Ireland, Denmark


Group One: Scotland, Albania, Israel

Group Two: Hungary, Greece, Finland, Estonia

Group Three: Slovenia, Norway, Bulgaria, Cyprus

Group Four: Romania, Serbia, Montenegro, Lithuania


Group One: Georgia, Latvia, Kazakhstan, Andorra

Group Two: Belarus, Luxembourg, Moldova, San Marino

Group Three: Azerbaijan, Faroe Islands, Malta, Kosovo

Group Four: Macedonia, Armenia, Liechtenstein, Gibraltar