Hockey: Scotland women's squad for Commonwealth Games is announced

Five Edinburgh University players, including vice captain Katie Robertson, and two from Watsonians have been named in the Scotland women's hockey squad for this summer’s Commonwealth Games.

Olympic bronze medalist Sarah Robertson will captain a blend of experience and youth in Birmingham, where nine players will make their Games debut alongside nine players who played at in the last staging of the event on the Gold Coast in Australia.

The five Edinburgh University players include Scotland vice captain Katie Robertson. The 18-strong squad also includes four other current Great Britain squad members in Amy Costello from Edinburgh, Dundee-born Charlotte Watson, Glaswegian Jenny Eadie and Helensburgh native Fiona Burnet.

Hide Ad

Debutants include Bronwyn Shields from Glasgow and Ellie Wilson, the Watsonians player from Edinburgh, plus Eve Pearson from Dunfermline.

The Scots will take Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and Kenya in Pool B.

Sarah Robertson, 28, is appearing in her third Commonwealth Games and she said: “Being captain offers a different dynamic for me and it’s a huge honour to captain the team at the Commonwealth Games. The group is in a really good place so it’s exciting moving into the summer.

Hide Ad

“We haven’t really seen much of some of the other countries; for example Australia and New Zealand have only really been playing each other, so we’ve not had many matches against those countries. So it’s a bit of an unknown but we’re in a really good group and I think we can cause an upset.”

Scotland’s opening match on July 29 is against South Africa which will be special for South African-born Heather McEwan who will earn her first Scotland cap that day.

Hide Ad

She said: "Being selected is the best feeling in the world. To play that game against South Africa is amazing. I’ve come a long way and I’m just so excited to be part of it."

Hide Ad

Chris Duncan, head coach, said: "We’ve picked an amazingly strong squad. Our expectation is to show our brand of hockey to the world. If we focus on process, and do the best we can, then results will take care of themselves."

SCOTLAND SQUAD (for the Commonwealth Games): Amy Costello, Eve Pearson, Jessica Ross, Katie Robertson, Louise Campbell (Edinburgh University), Amy Gibson (Der Club An Der Alster, Germany), Becky Ward (Western Wildcats), Bronwyn Shields, Millie Steiger (Clydesdale Western), Charlotte Watson (Loughborough University), Ellie Wilson, Sarah Jamieson (Watsonians), Fiona Burnet, Jen Eadie, Nicola Cochrane (Wimbledon), Heather McEwan (Royal Victory, Antwerp, Belgium), Robyn Collins (Surbiton), Sarah Robertson (Hampstead & Westminster). Reserves: Bex Condie (Birmingham University), Emily Dark (Watsonians), Fiona Semple (Clydesdale Western), Jess Buchanan (Athletic Terrassa, Spain), Laura Swanson (Der Club An Der Alster.)

Hide Ad
The Scotland women's hockey squad for the 2022 Commonwealth Games is unveiled. Picture: Craig Watson
Amy Costello in action for Scotland at the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games in Australia. She is one of five Edinburgh University players in the squad again this year. Garry Bowden/SIPPA
Hide Ad
The Scotland women's hockey squad for the 2022 Commonwealth Games in unveiled. Picture: Craig Watson