Stuart Hogg returns as Scotland coach Gregor Townsend rings changes for Fiji clash

Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now
Stuart Hogg returns at full-back in one of six changes made by Gregor Townsend to Scotland’s starting line-up for Saturday’s Autumn Nations Series clash with Fiji at BT Murrayfield.

Four of the new faces come in the back division, with Scotland’s record try-scorer Hogg making a first appearance of the season at full-back and Adam Hastings returning to feature at stand-off. A new centre partnership sees Chris Harris – who is named as a vice-captain – link up with Cameron Redpath, who will be winning his first cap at BT Murrayfield. Edinburgh’s Duhan van der Merwe and Darcy Graham are selected at wing, with Ali Price continuing at scrum-half.

The pack has two changes from the side narrowly beaten by Australia last weekend, with Richie Gray returning to the international fold for a first start since 2017 and George Turner coming in at hooker. Edinburgh’s Pierre Schoeman packs down with Zander Fagerson either side of Turner, with vice-captain Grant Gilchrist partnering Gray in the second row. Captain Jamie Ritchie once more leads a back row that also contains Hamish Watson and Matt Fagerson.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Young tighthead prop Murphy Walker is listed among the replacements and the 23-year-old would make his Scotland debut if called upon. Rory Sutherland, Ewan Ashman, Jonny Gray and Jack Dempsey represent the remaining forward substitutes, with Ben White, Blair Kinghorn and Sione Tuipulotu options in the backs.

Stuart Hogg is back in the Scotland Xv to take on Fiji. Picture: Ross Parker / SNSStuart Hogg is back in the Scotland Xv to take on Fiji. Picture: Ross Parker / SNS
Stuart Hogg is back in the Scotland Xv to take on Fiji. Picture: Ross Parker / SNS

Scotland team

To face Fiji at BT Murrayfield, Edinburgh, live on Amazon Prime, Saturday 5 November – kick-off 1pm: 15. Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs) 93 caps; 14. Darcy Graham (Edinburgh Rugby) 30 caps; 13. Chris Harris - Vice Captain - (Gloucester Rugby) 36 caps; 12. Cameron Redpath (Bath Rugby) 2 caps; 11. Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh Rugby) 20 caps; 10. Adam Hastings (Gloucester Rugby) 26 caps; 9. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) 55 caps; 1. Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh Rugby) 13 caps; 2. George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) 28 caps; 3. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 51 caps; 4. Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors) 67 caps; 5. Grant Gilchrist - Vice Captain - (Edinburgh Rugby) 56 caps; 6. Jamie Ritchie - Captain - (Edinburgh Rugby) 33 caps; 7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby) 52 caps; 8. Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 25 caps.

Replacements: 16. Ewan Ashman (Sale Sharks) 4 caps; 17. Rory Sutherland (Ulster Rugby) 20 caps; 18. Murphy Walker (Glasgow Warriors) uncapped; 19. Jonny Gray (Exeter Chiefs) 69 caps; 20. Jack Dempsey (Glasgow Warriors) 1 cap; 21. Ben White (London Irish) 6 caps; 22. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby) 35 caps; 23. Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors) 8 caps.