Three changes to Scotland squad to face Wales in final Six Nations game

Gregor Townsend has named his Scotland team to face WalesGregor Townsend has named his Scotland team to face Wales
Gregor Townsend has named his Scotland team to face Wales | Other 3rd Party
Clash in Cardiff is the only game in the championship to go ahead

Head coach Gregor Townsend has made three changes to his Scotland team to take on Wales in this weekend’s Six Nations clash in Cardiff.

Nick Haining drops out of the squad completely through illness and is replaced at No.8 by Magnus Bradbury while there is one change apiece in the front-row and second-row.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Former captain Stuart McInally starts at hooker with Glasgow Warriors’ Fraser Brown taking a seat on the bench, while Exeter Chiefs lock Sam Skinner comes in for Scott Cummings to make his first start of the 2020 tournament,. Cummings is also named among the replacements.

Haining’s absence sees Glasgow flanker Matt Fagerson called up to the matchday 23.

Scotland will be looking to build on their impressive 28-17 victory over France last weekend which ended their hopes of the Grand Slam.Speaking ahead of the trip to Wales, Townsend said: "We set out this season to improve our consistency over a run of five tough games, something we have done well so far."We've stayed in the fight in every game, which is a credit to how hard the players have worked in training and during the Tests."It's also been encouraging to see how well the players have grown together and have taken on board the input from new coaches, Steve (Tandy) and Pieter (de Villiers), who have done a great job in their first season with the team."

Scotland team to face Wales

15. Stuart Hogg (captain); 14. Sean Maitland; 13. Chris Harris; 12. Sam Johnson; 11. Blair Kinghorn; 10. Adam Hastings; 9. Ali Price; 1. Rory Sutherland; 2. Stuart McInally; 3. Zander Fagerson; 4. Sam Skinner; 5. Grant Gilchrist; 6. Jamie Ritchie; 7. Hamish Watson; 8. Magnus Bradbury.

Replacements: 16. Fraser Brown; 17. Allan Delll 18. Willem Nel; 19. Scott Cummings; 20. Matt Fagerson; 21. George Horne; 22. Duncan Weir; 23. Kyle Steyn.

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.