Capital-based wingers backed to shine for Scotland Club XV

Chris LaidlawChris Laidlaw
Chris Laidlaw
Boroughmuir stand-off Chris Laidlaw has backed Edinburgh-based wingers Jordan Edmunds and Harvey Elms to do a great job when the Scotland Club XV take on England Counties in Birmingham tonight (7.45pm).

Laidlaw will be making his debut for the representative side at Moseley RFC while his club team-mate Edmunds will be earning his third cap at this level and Currie’s Elms also his third.

In the BT Premiership Edmunds and Elms have been on fire, scoring 23 tries between them this season and Laidlaw feels they will have a big impact on the outcome of this match.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

“I have played in the same team as Jordan for a few years now and he just gets better and better,” Laidlaw said.

“He is still only in his early 20s and has great potential because he has great pace, can find a gap and pops up all over the pitch.

“It is a pleasure to be named in the same Club XV side as him while Harvey is someone we always watch out for when we play Currie and he is also good at finding space when it does not seem to be there.”

In all there are five Edinburgh-based players in the starting XV named by Heriot’s head coach Phil Smith.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The other two are Heriot’s hooker Michael Liness and his club colleague Callum Marshall while Currie duo John Cox and Robbie Nelson are on the substitutes’ bench.

If he gets on to the pitch it would be a Club XV debut for centre Nelson and he said: “I have loved playing at Currie and guys like head coach Ben Cairns have been instrumental in helping me reach this level.”

In the same fixture last season the Scots came out on top 57-27 at Gala’s Netherdale ground.

Scotland Club XV squad: Fraser Thomson (Melrose); Harvey Elms (Currie), Ross Curle (Ayr), George Taylor (Melrose), Jordan Edmunds (Boroughmuir); Chris Laidlaw (Boroughmuir), Murdo McAndrew (Melrose); Steven Findlay (Glasgow Hawks), Michael Liness (Heriot’s), Steven Longwell (Ayr), Robert McAlpine (Ayr), Callum Marshall (Heriot’s), Iain Moody (Melrose), Grant Runciman (Melrose), Pete McCallum (c) (Ayr). Subs: Russell Anderson (Melrose), Gary Strain (Glasgow Hawks), John Cox (Currie), Blair MacPherson (Ayr), Will Bordill (Ayr), David Armstrong (Ayr), Robbie Nelson (Currie), Kerr Gossman (Glasgow Hawks).